C-9 Parking and Traffic Policies Committee

Chair: Randy B. Machemehl

Member E-mail Address Book

FUNCTION: To establish traffic and parking regulations and to review annually a system of priorities for permits to be issued in reserved areas;: to recommend to the President ways and means of meeting parking needs of faculty, staff, and students; to recommend to the Faculty Council any changes in the composition and operation of the Parking and Traffic Appeals Panel.

COMPOSITION: At least four members of the General Faculty; four staff members, including two representing units at the J. J. Pickle Research Campus (the staff of the Director of the Physical Plant are not eligible to serve); and two students. Student members shall be appointed by the President in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the Student Government. In addition, every year the Chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty. Representatives of the Physical Plant, the Dean of Students, Business Affairs, Parking and Traffic, and the University Police shall serve as administrative advisors without vote.

Members, 2000-2001:

Bethel, Lowell J. 1999-2001 Professor, Curriculum and Instruction
Bhat, Chandra R. 2000-2002 Assistant Professor, Civil Engineering
Earl, Jimmy D. 1999-2001 Associate Director, Erwin Center
Machemehl, Randy B. 1999-2001 Professor, Civil Engineering, Center for Transportation Research
Mann, Elizabeth G. 2000-2002 Executive Assistant, Sociology
Mellenbruch, Larry L. 1999-2001 Applied Research Laboratories, Project Manager
Ruszkiewicz, John J. 2000-2002 Professor, Rhetoric and Composition
Torres, Vincent M. 2000-2002 Associate Director, PRC-Energy Studies
Vandenbout, David A. 1999-2001 Assistant Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry

*Staff Member

Faculty Council Appointees:
Blais, Lynn E. 2000-2001 Professor, Law
TBA 2000-2001

Two Students:
Opiela, Eric 2000-2001 Freshman, Law
Raborn, John Craig 2000-2001 Freshman, Law

Administrative Advisers:
Harkins, Gerald R. ex officio Director, Parking and Transportation Services
Martinez, Marla L. ex officio Assistant Vice President for Business Affairs
Rea, David L. ex officio Architect, Campus Planning
Van Slyke, Jeffrey M. ex officio Chief, University Police
Wood, Cheryl L. ex officio Representative, Dean of Students Office