Faculty Council at the University of Texas

FC Home
Legislation Status
Memorial Resolutions
Get Acrobat Reader



Click here to view document of compiled annual reports in portable document format (PDF)
View appendices in portable document format: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5.

A-4 Faculty Grievance Committee

Over the past year, the Grievance Committee has met with two faculty previously involved in formal grievance procedures with the University. It was the majority opinion after these meetings that our formal grievance procedure is somewhat flawed and warrants close scrutiny. As chair of the Grievance Committee, I am assuming that this will be a formal charge to the committee for the 2002-2003 term.

There have been a total of eleven contacts with the chair of the committee regarding complaints involving alleged retaliation and/or discrimination and denial of promotion and tenure. Two of these cases will go forward as formal grievances. One of the subcommittees has been formed and it will begin work this summer.

Of special significance is a written response from President Faulkner to the "Report and Recommendation from the Faculty Grievance Committee," D 582-585, which can be viewed at http://www.utexas.edu/faculty/council/1999-2000/legislation/grievance_rpt.html on the Faculty Council Web site. I thank President Faulkner. The president's response can be seen on the Faculty Council "Status of Legislation" link http://www.utexas.edu/faculty/council/pages/legislation_99-00.htm.

My appreciation goes to those members of the committee who have given of their time and expertise during this academic year and to the members who will serve on subcommittees over the coming months.

Submitted on behalf of the members of the Faculty Grievance Committee:

Neal Armstrong, civil engineering Alan Friedman, English
Gerard Béhague, music Robert Jensen, journalism
Douglas Biow, French and Italian David Nancarrow, theatre and dance
Michael Churgin, law Martha Newman, history
Alan Combs, pharmacy Alba Ortiz, special education
James Dietrick, accounting Lorenzo Sadun, mathematics
Frank Donahue, Germanic studies Helena Woodard, English
James Fredrickson, management

  Martha Hilley (music), chair

This document was posted on the Faculty Council Web site, www.utexas.edu/faculty/council/ on July 29, 2002. Paper copies are available on request from the Office of the General Faculty, FAC 22, F9500.

  Last updated:July 29, 2002
  Comments Welcome.
Back to: