A-1 Committee of Counsel on Academic Freedom and Responsibility

Chair: Janet Staiger
Vice Chair: Alan Friedman

Member E-mail Address Book

FUNCTION: To study problems in this area of concern; to advise on such problems or issues referred to it by any member of the faculty, the president, the chancellor, or the Board of Regents.
COMPOSITION: Seven members chosen at large from and by the voting members of the General Faculty for two-year overlapping terms. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two General Faculty members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. Deans, department chairs, and other administrative officials are ineligible for election or appointment. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, both of whom shall be members of the General Faculty.

Members, 2001-2002:
  Arens, Katherine M. 2001-2003

Professor, Germanic Studies

  Barr, Ronald E. 2000-2002 Professor, Mechanical Engineering
  Borich, Gary D. 2000-2002 Professor, Educational Psychology


Friedman, Alan W. 2001-2003

Professor, English

  Getman, Julius G. 2001-2003 Professor, Law
  Hilley, Martha F. 2000-2002 Professor, Music
  Staiger, Janet 2001-2003 Professor, Radio-Television-Film

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Carlson, Cindy I. 2001-2002 Professor, Educational Psychology
  Saltman, David J. 2001-2002 Professor, Mathematics