C-9 Parking and Traffic Policies Committee

Chandra R. Bhat
Vice Chair:
Gordon S. Novak Jr.

Member E-mail Address Book

FUNCTION: To establish traffic and parking regulations and to review annually a system of priorities for permits to be issued in reserved areas; to recommend to the president ways and means of meeting parking needs of faculty, staff, and students; to recommend to the Faculty Council any changes in the composition and operation of the Parking and Traffic Appeals Panel.

COMPOSITION: At least four members of the General Faculty; four staff members, including two representing units at the J. J. Pickle Research Campus (the staff of the director of the Physical Plant are not eligible to serve); and two students. Student members shall be appointed by the president in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the Student Government. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty. Representatives of the Physical Plant, the Dean of Students, Employee and Campus Services, Parking and Transportation, and the University Police shall serve as administrative advisors without vote.

Members, 2001-2002:

  Baldick, Ross 2001-2003 Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Bartek, Stephen A. 2001-2003 Associate Professor, Naval Science
  Bhat, Chandra R. 2000-2002 Assistant Professor, Civil Engineering
Bryant, Sharon L. 2001-2003 Administrative Assistant, Finance
Carner, Dorothy J. 2001-2002 Professional Librarian, General Libraries
  Novak Jr., Gordon S. 2001-2003 Professor, Computer Sciences
Ruetz, Diane P. 2001-2003 Executive Assistant, PRC-Texas Research Center
Ruszkiewicz, John J. 2000-2002 Professor, Rhetoric and Composition
Torres, Vincent M. 2000-2002 Associate Director, PRC-Energy Studies
*Staff Member

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Yates, James R. 2001-2002 Professor, Educational Administration
  Young, Michael P. 2001-2002 Assistant Professor, Sociology

Two Students:
  Kovar, Jarrod Seth 2001-2002 Student Government Representative, , Journalism
  McGowen III, Ernest B. 2001-2002 Student Government Representative, Government

Administrative Advisors:
  Clubb, Patricia L. ex officio Vice President for Employee and Campus Services
  Dalton, John D. ex officio Assistant Dean of Students
  Harkins, Gerald R. ex officio Director, Parking and Transportation Services
  Rea, David L. ex officio Architect, Campus Planning
  Van Slyke, Jeffrey M. ex officio Chief, University Police