C-3 Commencement and Academic Ceremonies Committee

Chair: Minette E. Drumwright,

Member E-mail Address Book

FUNCTION: To advise the Faculty Council, the president, and academic deans on policy matters, including selection of speakers, in planning graduation, Honors Day, and other formal academic ceremonies.

COMPOSITION: Four members of the General Faculty and two students. Student members shall be appointed by the president in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the appropriate student committee. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty. A representative of the Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs, the director of the Physical Plant, the director of University Bands, and the executive director of the Ex-Students' Association shall serve as administrative advisers without votes.

Members, 2002-2003:


Drumwright, Minette E. 2001-2003

Assistant Professor, Advertising

  Reichl, Linda E. 2002-2004 Professor, Physics


Summers, Edward L. 2001-2003

Professor, Accounting


Trimble, John R. 2001-2003 Professor, English

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Lucero, Amarante L . 2002-2003 Professor, Theatre and Dance
  Raizen, Esther L. 2002-2003 Assistant Professor, Middle Eastern Languages and Cultures

Two Students:
  Farhoud, Suzanne S. 2002-2003 Student Government Representative, Management Science and Information Systems, Junior
  Rubio, Jocelyn 2002-2003 Student Government Representative, Communication Studies, Senior

Administrative Advisors:
  Brett, Teresa Graham ex officio Dean of Students
  Clagett, Susan W. ex officio Special Assistant, University Relations
  Graham, John M. ex officio Director, Erwin Special Events Center
  Hunter, Ernest R. ex officio Director, Physical Plant
  Junkin, Jerry F. ex officio Director of UT Bands, Professor, Music
  Kessler, Susan ex officio Associate Executive Director, Ex-Students' Association