C-5 Faculty Building Advisory Committee

Chair: John C. (Jack) Gilbert
Vice Chair: Thomas W. Dison

Member E-mail Address Book

FUNCTION: To represent the faculty, staff, and students in the planning and programming of buildings. The committee shall have a strong voice in (a) campus master planning, (b) priority of building construction, (c) building location, (d) programming of buildings, and (e) reviewing and recommending of final plans. It shall report to the president and periodically to the Faculty Council. During the preparation of the preliminary plans for the erection of a particular building, the president shall appoint a special committee, composed of faculty (and students, when appropriate) who have a direct interest in the proposed building, to serve until the completion thereof, one of whom shall be designated as a voting member of the Faculty Building Advisory Committee for the specified building. Whenever a building is to include library facilities, the University librarian is to be added as an administrative adviser to the special committee.

COMPOSITION: Nine members of the General Faculty, including a representative from the School of Architecture; one member of the University staff; and two students. Student members shall be appointed by the president in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the appropriate student committee, and they shall serve one-year terms and shall be eligible for reappointment. The students may not be from the same college or school. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty. The vice president for employee and campus services or a delegate shall be an ex officio member. The director of UT System Office of Facilities Planning and Construction and a representative from the Office of Campus Planning and Facilities Management shall serve as administrative advisers without vote. The faculty and staff members are appointed for five year, overlapping terms, two rotating off each year.

Members, 2002-2003:

  Bose, Henry R. 2000-2005 Professor, Biological Sciences
Dison, Thomas W. 2000-2005 Director, Recreational Sports
  Garrison, James D. 2001-2006 Professor, English


Gilbert, John C. (Jack) 1999-2004 Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
  Knapp, Mark L. 2000-2004 Professor, Communication Studies
  Leary, Daniel E. 2002-2007 Associate Professor, Architecture
  Malina Jr., Joseph F. 1998-2003 Professor, Civil Engineering
  Todd, Janice S. 2001-2006 Associate Professor, Kinesiology and Health Education
  Wilson, Samuel M. 2001-2005 Associate Professor, Anthropology
  *Staff Member

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Abraham, Lawrence, D. 2002-2003 Chair, Curriculum and Instruction
  Palka, Bruce P. 2002-2003 Professor, Mathematics

Two Students:
  Pravda, Bryan D. 2002-2003 Student Government Representative, Architecture, Junior
  Staas, David 2002-2003 Student Government Representative, Law

Administrative Advisors:
  Clubb, Patricia L. ex officio Vice President for Employee and Campus Services
  Rishling, John L. ex officio Associate Vice President, Campus Planning and Facilities Management
  Sanders, Sidney J. ex officio Director, UT System, Facilities Planning and Construction