C-9 Parking and Traffic Policies Committee

Hortensia D. Peoples
Vice Chair:
Michael A. Gerhardt

Member E-mail Address Book

FUNCTION: To establish traffic and parking regulations and to review annually a system of priorities for permits to be issued in reserved areas; to recommend to the president ways and means of meeting parking needs of faculty, staff, and students; to recommend to the Faculty Council any changes in the composition and operation of the Parking and Traffic Appeals Panel.

COMPOSITION: At least four members of the General Faculty; four staff members, including two representing units at the J. J. Pickle Research Campus (the staff of the director of the Physical Plant are not eligible to serve); and two students. Student members shall be appointed by the president in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the Student Government. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty. Representatives of the Physical Plant, the Dean of Students, Employee and Campus Services, Parking and Transportation, and the University Police shall serve as administrative advisers without vote.

Members, 2002-2003:

  Baldick, Ross 2001-2003 Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Bartek, Stephen A. 2001-2003 Associate Professor, Naval Science
Bryant, Sharon L. 2001-2003 Administrative Assistant, Finance
  Confrey, Jere 2002-2004 Professor, Curriculum and Instruction
Lakatos, Holly A. 2002-2004 Professional Librarian, Law
  Meyer, Arthur L. 2002-2004 Lecturer, Chemistry and Biochemistry
  Novak Jr., Gordon S. 2001-2003 Professor, Computer Sciences
Peoples, Hortensia D. 2002-2004 Senior Administrative Associate, Center for Transportation Research
Ruetz, Diane P. 2001-2003 Executive Assistant, PRC-Texas Research Center
*Staff Member

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Hallmark, Julie. 2002-2003 Professor, Library and Information Science
  Irwin, Julie R. 2002-2003 Associate Professor, Marketing Administration

Two Students:
  King, Katherine Ann 2002-2003 Student Government Representative, History, Senior
  Kounelias, Anastasia "Stacy" 2002-2003 Student Government Representative, Communication Studies, Senior

Administrative Advisers:
  Clubb, Patricia L. ex officio Vice President for Employee and Campus Services
  Gerhardt, Michael A.. ex officio Student Affairs Administrator, Office of the Dean of Students
  Harkins, Gerald R. ex officio Director, Parking and Transportation Services
  Rea, David L. ex officio Architect, Campus Planning
  Van Slyke, Jeffrey M. ex officio Chief, University Police