Click here to view document of compiled annual reports in portable document format (PDF)

University of Texas Press Advisory Committee

The University of Texas Press Advisory Committee was convened on August 26, 2003, by Michael Churgin, when the committee elected a chair, vice chair, and a third member of the three-person executive committee for the year. (The executive committee is empowered to act between meetings on urgent projects.) Penelope Davies was elected chair, James Magnuson, vice chair, and Elizabeth Keating, the third member of the executive committee.

The committee is composed of ten faculty members. There are no student members because of the highly confidential nature of the materials read by committee members, which include outside reader's assessments of manuscripts submitted for publication. Some of these assessments are composed by or refer to faculty at UT Austin. The committee meets with staff members from the various departments of The University of Texas Press, who present projects, answer faculty member questions and provide information, but have no vote.

Seven meetings have been held since August 2003, and three more will probably be scheduled between now and August 31, 2004. The committee has approved sixty-nine book projects for publication and rejected one.

Penelope Davies, chair