A-1 Committee of Counsel on Academic Freedom and Responsibility

Chair: Alba A. Ortiz
Vice Chair: Alan K. Cline

Member E-mail Address Book

FUNCTION: To study problems in this area of concern; to advise on such problems or issues referred to it by any member of the faculty, the president, the chancellor, or the Board of Regents.
COMPOSITION: Seven members chosen at large from and by the voting members of the General Faculty for two-year overlapping terms. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two General Faculty members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. Deans, department chairs, and other administrative officials are ineligible for election or appointment. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, both of whom shall be members of the General Faculty.

Members, 2003-2004:


Belgum, Kristen L. 2003-2005

associate professor, Germanic studies

  Cline, Alan K. 2003-2005 professor, computer sciences
  Friedman, Alan W. 2003-2005 professor, English
  Golden, Linda L.1 2003-2005 professor, marketing administration
  Heinzelman, Susan S. 2002-2004 associate professor, English
  Ortiz, Alba A. 2002-2004 professor, special education
  Sharlot, M. Michael 2002-2004 professor, law

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Burns, Neal M. 2003-2004 professor, advertising
  Chiang, Maggie 2003-2004 assistant professor, Asian studies

  1 Professor Neal E. Armstrong resigned from the committee on October 10, 2003, after having accepted the position of vice provost for faculty affairs.