C-4 Educational Policy Committee

Chair: Paul B. Woodruff

Member E-mail Address Book

FUNCTION: To study proposals on educational policy and assess their possibilities and alternatives; to present recommendations on such matters to the Faculty Council. The committee shall actively seek advice from students.

COMPOSITION: Nine members of the General Faculty and three students. The three student members shall include one lower-division undergraduate, one upper-division undergraduate, and one graduate or law student. Student members shall be appointed by the president in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the Cabinet of College Councils. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council, one of whom shall be elected by the voting members of the Faculty Council, for one-year terms as members of the committee. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty. The provost and the director of the Measurement and Evaluation Center shall serve as administrative advisers without votes. The chair of the Student Deans' Committee and a representative of the Academic Counselors' Association shall serve as consultants without votes.

Members, 2003-2004:

  Anderson, Urton L. 2003-2005 professor, accounting
  Brodbelt, Jennifer S. 2003-2005 professor, chemistry and biochemistry
  Duke, Robert A.1 2003-2004 professor, music
  Laffrey, Shirley C. 2002-2004 associate professor, nursing
  Menchaca, Martha 2002-2004 professor, anthropology
  Morrison, Deborah K. 2002-2004 associate professor, advertising
  Ovando, Martha N. 2002-2004 professional, educational administration
  Smith, Martha K. 2002-2004 professor, mathematics
  Strong, Pauline T. 2003-2005 associate professor, anthropology
  divider line
1 To replace King E. Davis

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Holmes, Archie L. 2003-2004 associate professor, electrical and computer engineering
  Woodruff, Paul B. 2003-2004 professor, philosophy

Three Students:
  Redman, Carl A. (Andy) 2003-2004 Cabinet of College Councils (graduate)
  Rigg, Michael A. 2003-2004 Cabinet of College Councils, (upper-division undergraduate)
  Sharma, Amit Kumar 2003-2004 Cabinet of College Councils
(lower-division undergraduate)

Administrative Advisors:
  Ekland-Olson, Sheldon ex officio executive vice president and provost
  Gaede, Charles S. ex officio interim director, Measurement and Evaluation Center

  Meyer, Alvin H. ex officio chair, Student Deans' Association, associate dean, engineering

  Raley, Ana M. ex officio president, Academic Counselors’ Association, academic adviser, engineering