Index of Memorial Resolutions and Biographical Sketches

divider line


divider line

View in portable document format.



Dr. Lynn Wade McCraw, professor emeritus at The University of Texas at Austin, passed away on June 15, 2004, at the age of 89. He was born on October 26, 1914, in Bonham, Texas. He graduated from Austin College in 1937 where he was an all-conference football player and captain of the team during his senior year.

After graduation, he accepted a position as an English teacher and director of the Intramural Sports Program at Schreiner Institute in Kerrville, Texas. He remained at Schreiner Institute until 1941 when he joined the U.S. Army. From 1941-46 he served in the United States Army advancing from private to major. He served in the United States Army Reserves from 1946 until his retirement in 1974 as a lieutenant colonel.

He received his master’s degree from The University of Texas at Austin in 1946, and in 1948, he received his doctorate and was appointed assistant professor in the Department of Physical and Health Education at UT. Dr. McCraw remained a faculty member in the department until his retirement in 1985.

Dr. McCraw’s contributions to his profession and the Department of Kinesiology and Health Education at UT are immeasurable. He served as professor and chairperson of the department from 1958-1973 and as graduate advisor from 1960-1973. Dr. McCraw taught courses for the bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral programs, and he supervised sixty master’s theses, and eighteen doctoral dissertations. He published over forty professional articles and delivered more than seventy invited lectures on his research, which focused on strength development and motor learning, and his professional interests, which largely dealt with the professional development of future physical educators. He served for thirty-two years on the State Executive Committee of the University Interscholastic League.

Dr. McCraw was active in many professional associations and served as vice president of the American Association of Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD) and as president of the Texas Association (TAHPERD) from 1953-54. After his presidency, he continued to serve the association for thirty years until 1985 as its executive secretary-treasurer and also as editor of the association’s journal during this time. Because he played such a key role in the development of the TAHPERD, the leaders of this association later named their annual lecture the Lynn Wade McCraw Lecture.

His professional influence extended far beyond TAHPERD and UT. Many professional groups sought his leadership, wisdom, guidance, and counsel, including AAHPERD; Southern District AAHPERD; Travis County Board of the American Cancer Society (twenty-one years); State Executive Committee of the University Interscholastic League (thirty-two years); Texas Governor’s Office; Texas Legislature; American Heart Association; Texas Medical Association; State Board of Education; Texas Education Agency; Governor’s Commission on Physical Fitness; University of Texas Men’s Intercollegiate Athletic Council; numerous state professional associations comprised of school administrators, parents, teachers, and coaches; and other groups working on improvements and standards in Texas education at all levels. Dr. McCraw received many University, state, and national awards for outstanding contributions to his profession.

In 1984, the students in the Department of Kinesiology and Health Education created the Lynn W. McCraw Excellence Award to be given annually to the outstanding student in the department. The department also honored him by naming several recognitions and scholarships for him, including the Lynn W. McCraw Lecture Series, the Lynn McCraw Fellowship, and the Lynn McCraw Scholarship.

In 1985, Dr. McCraw was appointed as professor emeritus. His impact on the Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, which included a strong sense of professionalism, integrity, and intellectual rigor, has shaped and will continue to influence the department for many years to come.


Larry R. Faulkner, President
The University of Texas at Austin


Sue Alexander Greninger, Secretary
The General Faculty

This memorial resolution was prepared by a special committee consisting of Professors Charles Craven (chair), Waneen Spirduso, and Pete Tyson.