B-1 Financial Aid to Students, Committee on

Chair: Elizabeth C. Pomeroy

Member E-mail Address Book

FUNCTION: To initiate and review policies and procedures; to hear appeals from decisions of the Office of Student Financial Services.

COMPOSITION: Five members of the General Faculty, representing five colleges or schools, five students (four undergraduate and one graduate), including at least two who are receiving, or have received, financial aid from the Office of Student Financial Services, and two staff members. Each fall, four of the students shall be appointed by the president from a panel of not less than ten (10) nominees submitted by the Student Government; the fifth student shall be appointed by the president from a panel of not less than five (5) nominees submitted by the chair of the Graduate Student Assembly. Faculty members and staff members shall serve for two-year staggered terms beginning on the first class day of the fall semester. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty. The director of Student Financial Services, a representative of the Dean of Students, and a representative from the Office of Graduate Studies shall serve as administrative advisers without vote. The president may appoint additional non-voting administrative advisers from the general administration areas of the University.1

1Changes in function and composition were approved by the Faculty Council on April 11, 2005, and transmitted to the president on April 12, 2005. The president approved the changes on June 14, 2005. See D 3765-3773 for additional information.


Members, 2004-2005:
  Gordon, Edmund (Ted) 2003-2005 associate professor, anthropology
  Loop, Roseann 2004-2006 professor, human ecology
  Pomeroy, Elizabeth C. 2004-2006 associate professor, social work
  Stavchansky, Salomon A. 2003-2005 professor, pharmacy
  Wheat, Harovel G. 2004-2006 professor, mechanical engineering

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Hoad, Neville 2004-2005 assistant professor, English
  Kovar, Desiderio 2004-2005 associate professor, mechanical engineering

Five Students:
  Carpenter, Benjamin H. 2004-2005 Student Government representative, finance
  Fang, Tse-han Amy 2004-2005 Student Government representative, business
  Grandusky, Eric 2004-2005 Graduate Student Assembly representative, petroleum engineering
  Hines, Christine D. 2004-2005 Student Government representative, psychology

  Shukla, Geeta 2004-2005 Student Government representative, buisiness honors
Administrative Advisors:
  Alvarado-Boyd, Susan ex officio student affairs administrator, Dean of Students Office
  Burt, Lawrence W. ex officio director, Student Financial Services
  Dollard, John D. ex officio associate dean, Graduate Studies