B-2 Recreational Sports Committee

Chair: Marc A. Musick

Vice Chair: John Richburg

Member E-mail Address Book

FUNCTION: To determine policy for the conduct of the intramural programs; to approve and authorize publication of all rules and regulations governing intramural sports; to hear appeals of decisions of the Intramural Sports Council; and to promulgate regulations designating the faculty and staff members and other persons who are entitled to participate in the faculty and staff competitive and recreational programs.

COMPOSITION: Thirteen members, including six members of the General Faculty and two members of the University staff, appointed by the President for two-year terms; two students, a male and a female, designated by the Councils of Recreational Sports and appointed by the President for one-year terms; two other students, a male and a female, designated by the Student Government and appointed by the President for one-year terms; and one member of The University staff designated by the Non-Student Program and appointed by the President to serve as a member without vote for a one-year term. In addition, every year the Chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty. The Director of Recreational Sports shall serve as an administrative advisor without vote.1

1Changes in function and composition were approved by the Faculty Council on April 11, 2005, and transmitted to the president on April 12, 2005. The president approved the changes on June 14, 2005. See D 3765-3773 for additional information.

Members, 2004-2005:
Bermea, Mario 2004-2005 accounting technician, fine arts
  Brodbelt, Jennifer S. 2004-2006 professor, chemistry and biochemistry
Baum, Glen S. 2003-2005 electrical and mechanical technical supervisor, petroleum and geosystems engineering
  Butler, Johnny S. 2003-2005 professor, management
  Deitrick, James W. 2004-2006 professor, accounting
  Musick, Marc A. 2003-2005 assistant professor, management
Richburg, John H. 2003-2005 assistant professor, pharmacy
  Williams, Christine L. 2003-2005 professor, sociology
 *Staff Member (with vote)
**Staff Member (without vote)

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Antoniewicz, Peter R. 2004-2005 professor, physics
  Bailey, Matthew J. 2004-2005 associate professor, Spanish and Portuguese

Four Students:
  Billman, Blake L. 2004-2005 Council of RecSports representative, economics
  Hargis, Steven Gray 2004-2005 Student Government representative, accounting
  Mehta, Ankeeta 2004-2005 Student Government representative , finance
  Skoff-Davis, Erin 2004-2005 Council of RecSports representative, pharmacy

Administrative Advisor:
  Dison, Thomas W. ex officio director, Recreational Sports