C-10 Recruitment and Retention Committee

Chair: Zena T. Moore

Member E-mail Address Book

FUNCTION: To address the matter of recruitment and retention of minority students and to advise the Faculty Council and the president on constructive solutions to alleviate the problems of recruitment and retention.

COMPOSITION: Four members of the General Faculty, one departmental faculty minority liaison officer (appointed by the president), two University staff members (at least one of whom shall be an academic advisor or graduate coordinator), four students (student members shall be appointed by the president in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the Student Government and the Graduate Student Assembly and shall include at least one graduate student), coordinator of the UT Learning Center, and three members of the administration. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. The vice president for community and school relations, the vice provost for inclusion and cross cultural effectiveness, a representative from the Black Alumni Association, and a representative from the Hispanic Alumni Association will serve as ex officio members without votes. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty.1

1Changes in function and composition were approved by the Faculty Council on April 11, 2005, and transmitted to the president on April 12, 2005. The president approved the changes on June 14, 2005. See D 3765-3773 for additional information.

Members, 2004-2005:
Chen, Ge 2004-2005 assistant dean of students
  Cloud, Dana L. 2004-2005 associate professor, communication studies
Constant, Alan D. ex officio associate director, UT Learning Center
Garza, Augustine 2004-2005 deputy director, Admissions
  Garza, Thomas J. 2003-2005 associate professor, Slavic languages and literature
Grant, Darlene 2004-2005 associate dean, Graduate School
  Moore, Zena T. 2004-2006 associate professor, curriculum and instruction
  Wagstaff, Juanita G. 2004-2005 assistant professor, educational administration
  *Administration (with vote)

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Lawler, Desmond F. 2004-2005 professor, civil engineering
  Webb-Johnson, Gwendolyn

2004-2005 assistant professor, special education

Three Students:
  Das, Kunal 2004-2005 Student Government representative, finance
  Garza, Yvette 2004-2005 Student Government representative, government
  Jimenez, Brenda 2004-2005 Student Government representative, government

Administrative Advisors:
  Aleman, Susana I. ex officio representative, Hispanic Alumni Association
  Burt, Brenda H. ex officio representative, Black Alumni Association
  Hill, James L. ex officio vice president for community and school relations