C-11 Research Policy Committee

Chair: Benjamin Kuipers

Member E-mail Address Book

FUNCTION: To advise the president on matters relating to the research mission of the University and relationship between the research mission and other components of the University's overall mission. To provide for wider dissemination of information concerning the research mission of the University and how that mission is being discharged.

COMPOSITION: Nine members of the General Faculty, one school or college administrator (associate dean for research), two research staff members, one undergraduate student, and two graduate students. Student members shall be appointed by the president in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the Student Senate and the Graduate Student Assembly. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. No more than two faculty members of the committee shall be from a given college or school. At least one of the graduate student members of the committee shall be enrolled in one of the Ph.D. programs of the graduate school. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, both of whom shall be members of the General Faculty. Both the vice president for research and the vice provost and dean of graduate studies shall serve as administrative advisers to the committee without vote.1

1Changes in function and composition were approved by the Faculty Council on April 11, 2005, and transmitted to the president on April 12, 2005. The president approved the changes on June 14, 2005. See D 3765-3773 for additional information.

Members, 2004-2005:
  Diehl, Randy L. 2004-2006 professor, psychology
  Dyer, James S. 2003-2005 professor, management and information systems
  Franklin, Cynthia G. S. 2004-2006 professor, social work
  Huston, Aletha C. 2004-2006 professor, human ecology
  Kuipers, Benjamin 2004-2006 professor, computer sciences
  Loukas, Alexandra 2003-2005 assistant professor, kinesiology and health education
  Stout, Patricia A. 2004-2006 professor, advertising
  Stroup, Walter M. 2004-2006 assistant professor, curriculum and instruction
  Wheeler, Mary F. 2003-2005 professor, aerospace engineering

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Crismon, Miles L. 2004-2005 professor, pharmacy
  Hasenbein, John J. 2004-2005 assistant professor, mechanical engineering

Two Students:
  Jain, Navendu 2004-2005 Graduate Student Assembly representative, computer sciences
  Jiang, Wei 2004-2005 Graduate Student Assembly representative, computer and electrical engineering

Administrative Advisors:
  Sanchez, Juan M. ex officio vice president for research
  Rodriguez, Victoria ex officio vice provost and dean of graduate studies