C-3 Commencement and Academic Ceremonies Committee

Chair: Jacqueline Angel

Member E-mail Address Book

FUNCTION: To advise the Faculty Council, the president, and academic deans on policy matters, including selection of speakers, in planning graduation, Honors Day, and other formal academic ceremonies.

COMPOSITION: Four members of the General Faculty, two staff members, one graduate student, and two undergraduate students. Student members shall be appointed by the president in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the Student Government and the Graduate Student Assembly. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty. A representative of the Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs, the director of the Physical Plant, the director of University Bands, and the executive director of the Ex-Students' Association shall serve as administrative advisers without votes.1

1Changes in function and composition were approved by the Faculty Council on April 11, 2005, and transmitted to the president on April 12, 2005. The president approved the changes on June 14, 2005. See D 3765-3773 for additional information.

Members, 2004-2005:
  Angel, Jacqueline 2004-2005 professor, LBJ school
  Daly, Ann 2003-2005 associate professor, theatre and dance
  Faigley, Lester L. 2004-2006 professor, rhetoric and composition
  Jellison, Judith A. 2003-2005 professor, music

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Avant, Patricia C. 2004-2005 associate professor, nursing
  Béhague, Gerard H. 2004-2005 professor, music

Two Students:
  Madden, Wales H. 2004-2005 Student Government representative, business
  Rodriguez, Marisa 2004-2005 Student Government representative, kinesiology and health education

Administrative Advisors:
  Brett, Teresa Graham ex officio dean of students
  Clagett, Susan W. ex officio special assistant, University Relations
  Graham, John M. ex officio director, Erwin Special Events Center
  Hunter, Ernest R. ex officio director, physical plant
  Junkin, Jerry F. ex officio director of UT Bands, professor, music
  Kessler, Susan ex officio associate executive director, Ex-Students' Association