C-10 Recruitment and Retention Committee

Chair: Zena T. Moore
Chair elect: Lorenzo Candelaria

Member E-mail Address Book (comma deliminated)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon deliminated)

2005-2006 Annual Report

FUNCTION: To address the matter of recruitment and retention of minority students and to advise the Faculty Council and the president on constructive solutions to alleviate the problems of recruitment and retention.

COMPOSITION: Four members of the General Faculty, one departmental faculty minority liaison officer (appointed by the president),two University staff members (at least one of whom shall be an academic advisor or graduate coordinator), four students (student members shall be appointed by the president in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the Student Government and the Graduate Student Assembly and shall include at least one graduate student), coordinator of the UT Learning Center, and three members of the administration. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. The vice president for community and school relations, the vice provost for inclusion and cross cultural effectiveness, a representative from the Black Alumni Association, and a representative from the Hispanic Alumni Association will serve as ex officio members without votes. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty.

Members, 2005-2006:
Constant, Alan D. ex officio associate director, UT Learning Center
  Heider, Donald 2005-2006 associate professor, journalism, Departmental Faculty Minority Liaison Officer
  Kretzschmar, Jane A. 2005-2007 coordinator, MSW, social work
  Moore, Zena T. 2004-2006 associate professor, curriculum and instruction
  Wagstaff, Juanita G. 2005-2007 assistant professor, educational administration
  Zonn, Leo E. 2005-2007 professor, geography and the environment

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Candelaria, Lorenzo 2005-2006 assistant professor, music
  Gonzalez, Oscar

2005-2006 assistant professor, mathematics

Two Staff:
  Myhre, Margrett R. 2005-2006 academic advisor I, liberal arts
  TBD 2005-2007 appointed by president

Three Members of Administration (with vote):
  Garza, Augustine 2005-2006 deputy director, admissions
  Gilbert, Lucia A. 2005-2006 vice provost for undergraudate studies
  Grant, Darlene 2005-2006 associate dean, Graduate School

Four Students:
  Amin, Sarika A. 2005-2006 Student Government representative, finance
  De Leon, Marcos 2005-2006 Graduate Student Assembly representative, educational administration
  Jacob, Eliseo J. 2005-2006 Student Government representative, Spanish
  Orona, Michael R. 2005-2006 Student Government representative, English

Administrative Advisors:
  Arellano, Margarita M. ex officio associate dean of students, Hispanic Alumni Association representative
  Hill, James L. ex officio vice president for community and school relations

  Vincent, Gregory J. ex officio vice provost for inclusion and cross cultural effectiveness
  Wilson, Terry A. ex officio associate vice president, Black Alumni Association representative