C-11 Research Policy Committee

Chair: Miles L. Crismon
Chair elect: Riley, Peter J.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma deliminated)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon deliminated)

2005-2006 Annual Report

FUNCTION: To advise the president on matters relating to the research mission of the University and relationship between the research mission and other components of the University's overall mission. To provide for wider dissemination of information concerning the research mission of the University and how that mission is being discharged.

COMPOSITION: Nine members of the General Faculty, one school or college administrator (associate dean for research), two research staff members, one undergraduate student, and two graduate students. Student members shall be appointed by the president in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the Student Senate and the Graduate Student Assembly. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. No more than two faculty members of the committee shall be from a given college or school. At least one of the graduate student members of the committee shall be enrolled in one of the Ph.D. programs of the graduate school. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, both of whom shall be members of the General Faculty. Both the vice president for research and the vice provost and dean of graduate studies shall serve as administrative advisers to the committee without vote.

Members, 2005-2006:
  Diehl, Randy L. 2004-2006 professor, psychology
  Falbo, Toni L. 2005-2007 professor, educational psychology
  Franklin, Cynthia G. S. 2004-2006 professor, social work
  Huston, Aletha C. 2004-2006 professor, human ecology
  Kuipers, Benjamin 2004-2006 professor, computer sciences
  Schmidt, Christine E. 2005-2007 associate professor, biomedical engineering
  Stout, Patricia A. 2004-2006 professor, advertising
  Stroup, Walter M. 2004-2006 assistant professor, curriculum and instruction
  Wood, Kristin L. 2005-2007 professor, mechanical engineering

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Crismon, Miles L. 2005-2006 professor, pharmacy
  Riley, Peter J. 2005-2006 associate dean, physics

Two Research Staff:
  Schwartz, Philip J. 2005-2007 professional librarian, UT Libraries
  Simmons, Sarah L. 2005-2006 program coordinator, natural sciences

One College or School Administrator:
  Charbeneau, Randall J. 2005-2006 associate dean for research, College of Engineering

Three Students:
  Gilstrap, Lauren G. 2005-2006 Senate of College Councils representative, business
  Guo, Runhua 2005-2006 Graduate Student Assembly representative, engineering
  Xu, Zaiqing 2005-2006 Graduate Student Assembly representative, ICES

Administrative Advisors:
  Rodriguez, Victoria ex officio vice provost and dean of graduate studies
  Sanchez, Juan M. ex officio vice president for research