C-3 Commencement and Academic Ceremonies Committee

Chair: Jacqueline L. Angel
Vice Chair: Yolanda C. Padilla
Chair Elect: Jacqueline L. Angel

Member E-mail Address Book (comma deliminated)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon deliminated)

2005-2006 Annual Report

FUNCTION: To advise the Faculty Council, the president, and academic deans on policy matters, including selection of speakers, in planning graduation, Honors Day, and other formal academic ceremonies.

COMPOSITION: Four members of the General Faculty, two staff members, one graduate student, and two undergraduate students. Student members shall be appointed by the president in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the Student Government and the Graduate Student Assembly. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty. A representative of the Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs, the director of the Physical Plant, the director of University Bands, and the executive director of the Ex-Students' Association shall serve as administrative advisers without votes.

Members, 2005-2006:
  Angel, Jacqueline L. 2005-2007 professor, public affairs
  Daly, Ann 2005-2007 associate professor, theatre and dance
  Faigley, Lester L. 2004-2006 professor, rhetoric and composition
  Wheat, Harovel G. 2005-2007 associate professor, mechanical engineering

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Padilla, Yolanda C. 2005-2006 professor, social work
  Weinstock, John M. 2005-2006 professor, Germanic studies

Two Staff:
  Bradley, K. Denise 2005-2006 senior field trainer/analyst, education
  Sanchez, Cynthia M. 2005-2007 senior administrative associate, president's office

Three Students:
  Austin, Ashley L. 2005-2006 Graduate Stduent Assembly representative, educational administration
  Carpenter, Wes S. 2005-2006 Student Government representative, economics
  Cook, Elizabeth 2005-2006 Student Government representative, finance

Administrative Advisors:
  Clagett, Susan W. ex officio special assistant, University Relations
  Gonzalez, Juan C.1 ex officio interim dean of students
  Graham, John M. ex officio director, Erwin Special Events Center
  Hunter, Ernest R. ex officio director, Physical Plant
  Junkin, Jerry F. ex officio director of UT Bands, professor, music
  Kessler, Susan ex officio associate executive director, Ex-Students' Association

1Teresa Graham Brett resigned from the University effective December 31, 2005. Dr. Soncia Lilly will become dean of students effective April 17, 2006.