C-4 Educational Policy Committee

Chair/Chair elect:

Archie L. Holmes

Member E-mail Address Book (comma deliminated)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon deliminated)

FUNCTION: To study proposals on educational policy and assess their possibilities and alternatives; to present recommendations on such matters to the Faculty Council. The committee shall actively seek advice from students.

COMPOSITION: Nine members of the General Faculty and four students. The four student members shall be selected by the Senate of College Councils and the Graduate Student Assembly. The Senate of College Councils will select three undergraduate students. All undergraduate members must be from different Colleges and include at least one lower-division undergraduate and one upper-division undergraduate. The Graduate Student Assembly will select one graduate student, who is or has served as an Assistant Instructor or Teaching Assistant in an undergraduate course at UT Austin. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council, one of whom shall be elected by the voting members of the Faculty Council, for one-year terms as members of the committee. All other members from the General Faculty shall be appointed by the president and serve two-year staggered terms. The committee shall elect its own chair, who shall be a member of the General Faculty. The provost and the director of the Measurement and Evaluation Center, representing the Division of Instructional Innovation and Assessment, shall serve as administrative advisers without votes. The chair of the Student Deans' Committee and a representative of the Academic Counselors' Association, elected by the Academic Counselors' Association Officers, shall serve as consultants without votes.

Members, 2005-2006:
  Appling, Dean R. 2005-2007 professor, chemistry and biochemistry
  Blockley, Mary E. 2004-2006 professor, English
  Drumwright, Minette E. 2004-2006 associate professor, advertising
  Konana, Prabhudev 2005-2007 associate professor, information, risk and operations management
  Maloch, Anna E. (Beth)1 2005-2006 assistant professor, curriculum and instruction
  Ritter, Gretchen 2005-2007 associate professor, government
  Smith, Martha K. 2004-2006 professor, mathematics
  Speck, Lawrence W.2 2005-2006 professor, architecture
  Svinicki, Marilla D. 2004-2006 associate professor, educational psychology
1 Replaced Shirley C. Laffrey (associate professor, nursing) who retired from the University effective fall 2005.
2 Replacement for Judith Langlois who is unable to complete her final year of service.

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Holmes, Archie L. 2005-2006 associate professor, electrical and computer engineering
  Koons, Robert C. 2005-2006 professor, philosophy

Four Students:
  McDowell, Charles Cale 2005-2006 Senate of College Councils representative, finance
  Morowski, Deborah L. 2005-2006 Graduate Student Assembly representative, curriculum and instruction
  Nanney, Kathleen L. (Kate) 2005-2006 Senate of College Councils representative, finance
  Yount, David S. 2005-2006 Senate of College Councils representative, government

Administrative Advisors:
  Ekland-Olson, Sheldon ex officio executive vice president and provost
  Gaede, Charles S. ex officio interim director, Measurement and Evaluation Center

  Bernstein, Mark E. ex officio chair, Student Deans' Association, associate dean, communication
  Harbin, Melva J. ex officio president, Academic Counselors’ Association, academic advisor II, government