The University of Texas at Austin- What Starts Here Changes the World
Services Navigation

UT Direct


A-1 Committee of Counsel on Academic Freedom and Responsibility

Chair: Moon, Tessie Jo
Vice Chair: Michael H. Granof

Member E-mail Address Book (comma deliminated)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon deliminated)

2005-2006 Annual Report

FUNCTION: To study problems in this area of concern; to advise on such problems or issues referred to it by any member of the faculty, the provost,the president, the chancellor, or the Board of Regents.

COMPOSITION: Seven members chosen at large from and by the voting members of the General Faculty for two-year overlapping terms. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two General Faculty members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. Deans, associate deans, assistant deans, department chairs, and other administrative officials are ineligible for election or appointment. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, both of whom shall be members of the General Faculty. The committee shall always contain a faculty member from the Law School by election or, if no Law School faculty member is elected, by appointment.

Members, 2006-2007:
  Granof, Michael H. 2006-2008 professor, accounting
  Heinzelman, Susan 2006-2008 associate professor, English
  Jensen, Robert W. 2005-2007 associate professor, journalism
  Moon, Tessie Jo.1 2005-2007 professor, mechanical engineering
  Odell, Edward W. (Ted) 2005-2007 professor, mathematics
  Seaholm, Megan 2005-2007 lecturer, history
Staiger, Janet 2006-2008 professor, radio-television-film

1On October 27, 2005, Lynn C. Miller resigned from the committee and was replaced by the next runner-up, Tessie Jo Moon. On September 9, 2005, Professor Miller replaced Kamran Ali who is on leave for academic year 2005-2006.

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Vaaler , Jeffrey 2006-2007 professor, mathematics
  Woolley, Patrick 2006-2007 professor, law



  Updated 2013 October 18
  Copyright | Privacy | Accessibility
  Comments to or
  Contact Sue Alexander Greninger, Secretary,
  General Faculty and Faculty Council