The University of Texas at Austin- What Starts Here Changes the World
Services Navigation

UT Direct


C-10 Recruitment and Retention Committee

Chair: Augustine Garza 1
Vice Chair: TBD

Member E-mail Address Book (comma deliminated)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon deliminated)

2005-2006 Annual Report

FUNCTION: To address the matter of recruitment and retention of minority students and to advise the Faculty Council and the president on constructive solutions to alleviate the problems of recruitment and retention.

COMPOSITION: Four members of the General Faculty, one departmental faculty minority liaison officer (appointed by the president), two University staff members (at least one of whom shall be an academic adviser or graduate coordinator), four students (student members shall be appointed by the president in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the Student Government and the Graduate Student Assembly and shall include at least one graduate student), coordinator of the UT Learning Center, and three members of the administration. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. The vice president for community and school relations, the vice provost for inclusion and cross cultural effectiveness, a representative from the Black Alumni Association, and a representative from the Hispanic Alumni Association will serve as ex officio members without votes. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty.

Members, 2006-2007:
Fernandez, Edward L. ex officio learning specialist IV, UT Learning Center
  Kretzschmar, Jane A. 2005-2007 clinical professor and coordinator, MSW, social work
  Maxwell, Madeline M. 2006-2007 professor, communication studies; departmental faculty minority liaison officer
  Paredez, Deborah A. 2006-2008 assistant professor, theatre and dance
  Wagstaff, Juanita G. 2005-2007 assistant professor, educational administration
  Zonn, Leo E. 2005-2007 professor, geography and the environment

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Gonzalez, Oscar 2006-2007 associate professor, mathematics
  Bedore, Lisa M.1 2006-2007 associate professor, communication sciences and disorders
1Chair Lorenzo Candelaria resigned from the committee effective spring 2007, at which time Augustine Garza (vice chair) assumed the role of committee chair. Lorenzo Candelaria was replaced by Lisa M. Bedore, who will serve until August 31, 2007.

Two Staff:
  Dison, Ana M. 2006-2007 program coordinator, College of engineering
  Guerrero, Philip A. 2006-2008 graduate program coord. II, geological sciences

Three Members of Administration (with vote):
  Chen , Ge 2006-2007 assistant dean of students, dean of students office
  Garza, Augustine 2006-2007 deputy director, admissions
  Grant, Darlene 2006-2007 associate dean, graduate school

Four Students:
  Barrera, Rachel 2006-2007 Graduate Student Assembly representative
  Flores, Bianca 2006-2007 Student Government representative
  Franks, Brandelyn S. 2006-2007 Student Government representative
  Hailemariam, Helen 2006-2007 Student Government representative

Administrative Advisers:
  Arellano, Margarita M. ex officio associate dean of students, Hispanic Alumni Association representative
  Hill, James L. ex officio vice president for community and school relations
  Vincent, Gregory J. ex officio vice provost for inclusion and cross cultural effectiveness
  Wilson, Terry A. ex officio associate vice president, Black Alumni Association representative