The University of Texas at Austin- What Starts Here Changes the World
Services Navigation

UT Direct


C-12 Responsibilities, Rights, and Welfare of Graduate Student Academic Employees Committee

Chair: Melissa Olive
Vice Chair: Brian L. Evans
Chair Elect:

Brian L. Evans

Member E-mail Address Book (comma deliminated)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon deliminated)

2005-2006 Annual Report

FUNCTION: To advise the Faculty Council and the president on matters pertaining to the responsibilities, rights, and welfare of graduate student academic employees.

COMPOSITION: At least five members of the General Faculty, one staff graduate coordinator, and at least three students who are teaching assistants (at least one), assistant instructors (at least one), or graduate research assistants (at least one). Student members shall be appointed by the president in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the Graduate Student Assembly. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty. One representative from the Graduate School shall serve as a non-voting administrative adviser.

Members, 2006-2007:
  Barrish, Phillip J. 2005-2007 associate professor, English
  Brodbelt, Jennifer S. 2005-2007 professor, chemistry and biochemistry
  De Veciana, Gustavo A. 2005-2007 professor, electrical and computer engineering
  Evans, Brian L. 2006-2008 professor, electrical and computer engineering
  Reichl, Linda E. 2006-2008 professor, physics

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Hale, Charles R. 2006-2007 professor, anthropology
  Olive, Melissa L. 2006-2007 assistant professor, special education

One Staff :
  TBD1 2006-2007 graduate program coordinator
1Virginia Stockwell resigned from the committee effective February 7, 2007. An appointment will be made after receiving recommendations from the Committee on Committees in the spring. Until that time, the position will be left vacant per Vice Provost Givens.

Three Students:
  Forestell, Amy D. 2006-2007 Graduate Student Assembly representative
  Matteo, Anthony 2006-2007 Graduate Student Assembly representative
  Tighe, Jenna L. (Rosie) 2006-2007 Graduate Student Assembly representative

Administrative Adviser:
  Kahn, Terry D. ex-officio associate dean, graduate studies




  Updated 2013 October 18
  Copyright | Privacy | Accessibility
  Comments to or
  Contact Sue Alexander Greninger, Secretary,
  General Faculty and Faculty Council