The University of Texas at Austin- What Starts Here Changes the World
Services Navigation

UT Direct


C-13 Information Technology Committee

Chair: Desiderio Kovar
Vice Chair: Mary L. Rice-Lively
Chair Elect: Desiderio Kovar

Member E-mail Address Book (comma deliminated)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon deliminated)

2005-2006 Annual Report

FUNCTION: To recommend to the president, and to the vice-president for information technology, and to the Faculty Council changes in policies regarding information technology; to consult with and advise the vice-president for information technology about policies and procedures pertaining to information technology at The University.

COMPOSITION: Eight members of the General Faculty, four staff members, and four students. Staff members shall be appointed to two-year rotating terms by the president, from a panel of names submitted by the Staff Council. One student member shall be appointed to a one-year term by the president in the fall from a panel of names submitted by each of the student government and the student senate, and two members shall be appointed to one-year terms by the president from a panel of names submitted by the graduate student assembly. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty. The vice-president for information technology shall serve as an ex-officio member without vote. A representative from each of the following shall be selected by the president to serve as an administrative adviser without vote: the division of innovative instruction and assessment, the college and school technology coordinators, financial affairs, department chairs.

Members, 2006-2007:
  Grobe, Susan J. 2005-2007 professor, nursing
  Markey, Mia K. 2006-2008 assistant professor, biomedical engineering
  Ramachandran, Vijaya 2006-2008 professor, computer sciences
  Rice-Lively, Mary L. 2006-2008 associate dean, school of information
  Rowe, Timothy B. 2005-2007 professor, geological sciences
  Smith, Jennifer C.1 2006-2007 assistant professor, curriculum and instruction
  Strover, Sharon L. 2005-2007 professor, radio-television-film
  Syverson, Margaret A. 2006-2008 associate professor, rhetoric and writing
1Daniel H. Robinson resigned from the committee on January 27, 2006, due to a scheduling conflict.

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Justin, David 2006-2007 assistant professor, theatre and dance
  Kovar, Desiderio 2006-2007 associate professor, mechanical engineering

Four Staff
  Burns, David A. 2005-2007 director, business school
  Gavenda, Philip M. 2005-2007 senior systems analyst, admissions
  Svoboda, Angela M. 2006-2008 director, admissions
  Sounny-Slitine, Sakena1 2007-2008 executive assistant, economic
1Replaced Amy Jones who resigned from UT Austin.

Four Students
  Klein, Howard H. 2006-2007 Senate of College Councils representative
  Priven, Moira 2006-2007 Graduate Student Assembly representative
  Riley, Timothy K. 2006-2007 Graduate Student Assembly representative
  Setapen, Adam M.1 2006-2007 Student Government representative
  1Replaced Lucas A. Salinas effective February 5, 2007.

Administrative Advisers:
  Ashcroft, Judy C. ex officio associate vice president, Division of Innovative Instruction and Assessment
  Brumfield, Jeffrey A. ex officio representative college and school technology coordinators, associate dean, instructional technology
  Reynolds, Athena H. ex officio representative, financial affairs
  Roberts, Brian E. ex officio vice president for information technology




  Updated 2013 October 18
  Copyright | Privacy | Accessibility
  Comments to or
  Contact Sue Alexander Greninger, Secretary,
  General Faculty and Faculty Council