The University of Texas at Austin- What Starts Here Changes the World
Services Navigation

UT Direct


 C-2 Calendar Committee

Principles for the Development of the Academic Calendar

Chair: Kenneth M. Ralls
Vice Chair: Wayne Rebhorn
Chair Elect:

John R. Allison

Member E-mail Address Book (comma deliminated)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon deliminated)

2005-2006 Annual Report

FUNCTION: To make recommendations to the Faculty Council and to the president concerning the calendar. The Calendar Committee will review the Principles for the Development of the Academic Calendar each year. If changes are needed, the committee will submit a recommendation to the Faculty Council in time for consideration at the council’s April meeting. If no changes are needed, the committee will confirm in its annual report that it reviewed the principles and recommended no changes.

COMPOSITION:COMPOSITION: Four members of the General Faculty, two staff members, one graduate student, and two undergraduate students. Student members shall be appointed by the president in the fall from panels of names submitted by the appropriate student governing bodies and shall include one representative from Student Government, one from the Senate of College Councils, and one from the Graduate Student Assembly. One of the student members shall also be members of the Faculty Council. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty. A representative of the Office of the Registrar shall serve as administrative adviser without vote.1

1 Function and Composition updates approved by the Faculty Council on April 16, 2007, and transmitted to the president for approval on April 17, 2007. See D 5314-5315 and D 5320-5321.

Members, 2006-2007:
  Allison, John R. 2006-2008 professor, information, risk, and operations management
  Erskine, James L. 2005-2007 professor, physics
  Somers, Patricia 2005-2007 associate professor, educational administration
  Todd, Russell1 2006-2007 professor, journalism
  Williams, Holly A. 2006-2008 associate professor, theatre and dance
1Replaced Robert C. Solomon (professor, philosophy) who passed away unexpectedly on January 2, 2007. He had been serving a two-year term on the committee (2005-2007).

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Ralls, Kenneth M. 2006-2007 professor, mechanical engineering
  Rebhorn, Wayne 2006-2007 professor, English

Two Staff:
  Brown, Susan K. 2005-2007 assistant dean, pharmacy
  Vera, Lisa A. 2006-2008 senior administrative associate, liberal arts

Three Students:
  Rajagopalan, Keshav 2006-2007 Student Government representative
  Rust, Bonnie P.            2006-2007 Graduate Student Assembly representative
  Scroggins, Berkley B. 2006-2007 Student Government representative

Administrative Adviser:
  Kobler, Laura ex officio associate registrar



  Updated 2013 October 18
  Copyright | Privacy | Accessibility
  Comments to or
  Contact Sue Alexander Greninger, Secretary,
  General Faculty and Faculty Council