The University of Texas at Austin- What Starts Here Changes the World
Services Navigation

UT Direct


C-4 Educational Policy Committee

Chair David M. Hillis
Chair elect: Desmond W. Lawler
On May 7, David M. Hillis (previous chair elect) was elected as chair elect of the Faculty Council in 2007-2008, and therefore, resigned from the committee. Professor Lawler was elected to represent the Faculty Council in 2007-2008, and was subsequently elected by the committee to replace David Hillis as chair elect.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma deliminated)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon deliminated)

2005-2006 Annual Report

FUNCTION: To study proposals on educational policy and assess their possibilities and alternatives; to present recommendations on such matters to the Faculty Council. The committee shall actively seek advice from students.

COMPOSITION: Nine members of the General Faculty and four students. The four student members shall be selected by the Senate of College Councils and the Graduate Student Assembly. The Senate of College Councils will select three undergraduate students. All undergraduate members must be from different Colleges and include at least one lower-division undergraduate and one upper-division undergraduate. The Graduate Student Assembly will select one graduate student, who is or has served as an Assistant Instructor or Teaching Assistant in an undergraduate course at UT Austin. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council, one of whom shall be elected by the voting members of the Faculty Council, for one-year terms as members of the committee. All other members from the General Faculty shall be appointed by the president and serve two-year staggered terms. The committee shall elect its own chair, who shall be a member of the General Faculty. The provost, the dean of Undergraduate Studies, and the director of the Measurement and Evaluation Center, representing the Division of Instructional Innovation and Assessment, shall serve as administrative advisers without votes. The chair of the Student Deans' Committee and a representative of the Academic Counselors' Association, elected by the Academic Counselors' Association Officers, shall serve as consultants without votes.

Members, 2006-2007:
  Appling, Dean R. 2005-2007 professor, chemistry and biochemistry
  Fowler, Wallace T. 2006-2008 professor, aerospace engineering and engineeering mechanics
  Jensen, Jody 2006-2008 associate professor, kinesiology and health education
  Konana, Prabhudev 2005-2007 associate professor, information, risk and operations management
  Koons, Robert C.1 2006-2008 professor, philosophy
  Maloch, Anna E. (Beth) 2006-2008 associate professor, curriculum and instruction
  Ritter, Gretchen 2005-2007 associate professor, government
  Speck, Lawrence W. 2006-2008 professor, architecture
  Springer, David W. 2006-2008 associate dean, social work
1 Replacement for Professor Paul B. Woodruff, philosophy, who was appointed inaugural dean of undergraduate studies in September 2006.

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Anderson, Urton L. 2006-2007 professor, accounting
  Hillis, David M.2 2006-2007 professor, integrative biology
2 Archie L. Holmes resigned from the University at the end of fall 2007.

Four Students:
  Estrin, Miriam R. 2006-2007 Senate of College Councils representative
  Nanney, Kathleen L. 2006-2007 Senate of College Councils representative
  Sweet, Michael S. 2006-2007 Graduate Student Assembly representative
  Yount, David S. 2006-2007 Senate of College Councils representative

Administrative Advisers:
  Ashcroft, Judy C. ex officio associate vice president, Division of Instructional Innovation and Assessment
  Givens, Terri E. ex officio vice provost
  Woodruff, Paul B. ex officio dean, undergraduate studies

  Bernstein, Mark E. ex officio chair, Student Deans' Committee, associate dean, communication
  Murphy, Greg R. ex officio president, Academic Counselors’ Association



  Updated 2013 October 18
  Copyright | Privacy | Accessibility
  Comments to or
  Contact Sue Alexander Greninger, Secretary,
  General Faculty and Faculty Council