The University of Texas at Austin- What Starts Here Changes the World
Services Navigation

UT Direct


A-1 Committee of Counsel on Academic Freedom and Responsibility

Chair: Tessie Jo Moon
Vice Chair: Patrick Woolley

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

2006-2007 Annual Report

FUNCTION: To study problems in this area of concern; to advise on such problems or issues referred to it by any member of the faculty, the provost,the president, the chancellor, or the Board of Regents.

COMPOSITION: Seven members chosen at large from and by the voting members of the General Faculty for two-year overlapping terms. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two General Faculty members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. Deans, associate deans, assistant deans, department chairs, and other administrative officials are ineligible for election or appointment. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, both of whom shall be members of the General Faculty. The committee shall always contain a faculty member from the Law School by election or, if no Law School faculty member is elected, by appointment.

Members, 2007-2008:
  Franklin, Cynthia G. S.1 2008-2009 professor, social work
  Friedman, Alan W. 2007-2009 professor, English
  Granof, Michael H. 2006-2008 professor, accounting
  Heinzelman, Susan 2006-2008 associate professor, English
  Moon, Tessie Jo. 2007-2009 professor, mechanical engineering
  Parker, Randall M. 2007-2009 professor, special education
  Staiger, Janet 2006-2008 professor, radio-television-film
1Replaced Ann Cvetkovich who resigned from the committee effective August 31, 2008.

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Vaaler , Jeffrey 2007-2008 professor, mathematics
  Woolley, Patrick 2007-2008 professor, law



  Updated 2013 October 18
  Copyright | Privacy | Accessibility
  Comments to or
  Contact Sue Alexander Greninger, Secretary,
  General Faculty and Faculty Council