The University of Texas at Austin- What Starts Here Changes the World
Services Navigation

UT Direct


A-4 Faculty Grievance Committee

Chair: Alan W. Friedman
Chair elect:

Susan S. Heinzelman

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

2006-2007 Annual Report

FUNCTION: The Faculty Grievance Committee is authorized to hear or otherwise dispose of individual grievances. Faculty grievance procedures are set forth in Section 3.18 of the UT Austin Handbook of Operating Procedures.

COMPOSITION: Consists of sixteen full-time voting members of the General Faculty, serving two-year overlapping terms. Ten members are elected at-large by the General Faculty, and six members are appointed by the president through the regular procedures of the Committee on Committees. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two General Faculty members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. The total committee membership shall not include more than four faculty members from any college or school. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, both of whom shall be members of the General Faculty. The vice chair will assume the role of chair the following year; the past chair will serve as an ex-officio, voting member of the committee.

Members, 2007-2008:
Adut, Ari 2006-2008 assistant professor, sociology
Chen, Ray T. 2006-2008 professor, electrical and computer engineering
Cherwitz, Richard A.1 2007-2008 professor, communication studies
Friedman, Alan W. 2006-2008 professor, English
Heinzelman, Susan S 2007-2009 associate professor, English
Milner, Thomas E. 2006-2008 associate professor, biomedical engineering
Moon, Tessie Jo 2007-2009 professor, mechanical engineering
Murphy, John H. 2007-2009 professor, advertising
Ortiz, Alba A. 2006-2008 professor, special education
Padilla, Yolanda C. 2007-2009 professor, social work
Petersen, Bradley R. 2006-2008 associate professor, art and art history
Richmond-Garza, Elizabeth 2006-2008 associate professor, English
Staiger, Janet 2007-2009 professor, radio-television-film
Steinhardt, Mary A. 2007-2008 past chair; professor, kinesiology and health education
Stone, Allucquere (Sandy) R. 2007-2009 associate professor, radio-television-film
Wilcox, Richard E. 2007-2009 professor, pharmacy
Wilson, Robert H 2007-2009 professor, public affairs


1 Charles Ramirez Berg resigned from the committee effective October 25, 2007.

Members elected by the General Faculty.
Members appointed by the President from nominees submitted by the Committee on Committees.

Faculty Council Appointees:
  De Veciana, Gustavo 2007-2008 professor, electrical and computer engineering
  Moore, Robin D. 2007-2008 associate professor, music



  Updated 2013 October 18
  Copyright | Privacy | Accessibility
  Comments to or
  Contact Sue Alexander Greninger, Secretary,
  General Faculty and Faculty Council