The University of Texas at Austin- What Starts Here Changes the World
Services Navigation

UT Direct


C-10 Recruitment and Retention Committee

Chair: Lisa Bedore
Vice Chair: Deborah A. Paredez

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

2006-2007 Annual Report

FUNCTION: To address the matter of recruitment and retention of minority students and to advise the Faculty Council and the president on constructive solutions to alleviate the problems of recruitment and retention.

COMPOSITION: Four members of the General Faculty, one departmental faculty minority liaison officer (appointed by the president), two University staff members (at least one of whom shall be an academic adviser or graduate coordinator), four students (student members shall be appointed by the president in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the Student Government and the Graduate Student Assembly and shall include at least one graduate student), coordinator of the UT Learning Center, and three members of the administration. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. The vice president for community and school relations, the vice provost for inclusion and cross cultural effectiveness, a representative from the Black Alumni Association, and a representative from the Hispanic Alumni Association will serve as ex officio members without votes. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty.

Members, 2007-2008:
  Bedore, Lisa 2007-2009 associate professor, communication sciences and disorders
  Brown, Carolyn M. 2007-2009 associate professor, pharmacy
Fernandez, Edward L. ex officio learning specialist IV, UT Learning Center
  Jones, Meta D. 2007-2009 assistant professor, English
  Maxwell, Madeline M. 2007-2009 professor, communication studies, departmental faculty minority liaison officer
  Paredez, Deborah A. 2006-2008 assistant professor, theatre and dance

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Boas, Hans C. 2007-2008 assistant professor, Germanic studies
  Speed, Shannon 2007-2008 assistant professor, anthropology

Two Staff:
  Guerrero, Philip A. 2006-2008 graduate program coord. II, geological sciences
  McQueary, Kelly J. 2007-2009 academic advisor II, chemical engineering

Three Members of Administration (with vote):
  Chen , Ge 2007-2008 special assistant to the vice president, diversity and community engagement
  Garza, Augustine 2007-2008 deputy director, admissions
  Grant, Darlene 2007-2008 associate dean, graduate school

Four Students:
  Jones, Natalie 2007-2008 Graduate Student Assembly representative
  Martinez, Diana 2007-2008 Student Government representative
  Rodriguez, Melessa 2007-2008 Student Government representative
  Villa, Vanessa 2007-2008 Student Government representative

Administrative Advisors:
  Vincent, Gregory J. ex officio vice president for inclusion and cross cultural effectiveness
  TBD ex officio Hispanic Alumni Association representative
  TBD ex officio Black Alumni Association representative