View in portable document format.



Following are the minutes of the special Faculty Council meeting of May 11, 2009.

Greninger signature
Sue Alexander Greninger, Secretary
The General Faculty and Faculty Council

MAY 11, 2009

The first meeting of the voting members of the 2009-10 Faculty Council was held in Room 212 of the Main Building on Monday, May 11, 2009, at 2:15 P.M. David M. Hillis (integrative biology), chair of the 2008-09 Council, presided in the absence of Janet Staiger (radio-television-film and 2009-10 Faculty Council chair), who was out of the country attending a professional meeting.


Present: William Beckner, Narayan Bhargava, Daniel A. Bonevac, Dean A. Bredeson, Simone A. Browne, Cynthia J. Buckley, Neal M. Burns, Lee R. Chesney, Namkee Choi, Elizabeth Cullingford, Molly E. Cummings, Jonathan B. Dingwell, Edwin Dorn, Brian L. Evans, Eileen R. Fowles, Luis Francisco-Revilla, Alan W. Friedman, Steven J. Friesen, Alexandra A. Garcia, Robert B. Gilbert, Andrea C. Gore, Michael H. Granof, Sabine Hake, Patricia I. Hansen, Martha F. Hilley, David M. Hillis, Elaine K. Horwitz, Karrol A. Kitt, Mark G. Longaker, Raul L. Madrid, Hunter C. March, Jennifer A. Maynard, Lauren A. Meyers, Gretchen Murphy, Dean P. Neikirk, William T. O'Rourke, Edward W. (Ted) Odell, Thomas L. Pangle, Catherine Riegle-Crumb, Lexing Ying.

Absent: Urton L. Anderson (excused), Christopher J. Bell, David P. Birdsong (excused), Hans C. Boas, Randy Bomer (excused), Pascale R. Bos, Philip M. Broadbent, Richard H. Crawford, John S. Dzienkowski, David W. Fowler (excused), Irene M. Gamba (excused), Linda L. Golden (excused), Charles R. Hale, Syed A. Hyder (excused), LeeAnn Kahlor (excused), Erhan Kutanoglu (excused), Shara Ma, Paula C. Murray, Gordon S. Novak (excused), Thomas G. Palaima (excused), Elizabeth C. Pomeroy (excused), Cherise Smith (excused), Janet Staiger (excused), Ye Sun, Rabun Taylor (excused), Darlene C. Wiley, Samuel M. Wilson.

Voting Members:


Chair Hillis (integrative biology) called the special meeting of the 2009-10 Faculty Council to order, welcomed everyone, and extended an invitation to the newly-elected Council members to stay for the regular May meeting of the 2008-09 Council after the special meeting adjourned. He said he was serving as the meeting’s chair because Chair Elect Janet Staiger (radio, television, film and the current chair-elect of the Council) was unable to attend. He explained that the purpose of the special meeting was to choose a chair elect for the 2009-10 Council as well as executive committee members representing the following committees: Faculty Advisory Committee on Budgets, Educational Policy Committee, and Faculty Welfare Committee. On behalf of the Faculty Council Executive Committee (FCEC) members, who served as the nominating committee, he thanked the nominees who were willing to run for Council officers for the coming year.


In addition to Chair Hillis, the following members of the FCEC served on the nominating committee: Professors Janet Staiger (committee chair), Michael Granof (accounting), Sue Greninger (human development and family sciences), and Susan Heinzelman (English). The other three FCEC members, Professors Alan Friedman (English), Thomas Palaima (classics), and Steven J. Friesen (religious studies) did not serve on the committee because they were among the faculty nominated; the two latter were included in the pool of candidates under consideration. After presenting a brief overview of the role and functions of the FCEC and the responsibilities of the four FCEC positions being elected at the meeting, Chair Hillis called on each candidate to make a brief statement. Professor Granof read a statement prepared by Professor Paliama, who was unable to attend. The other candidates gave brief presentations highlighting their experiences, qualifications, and interest in serving as an officer of the 2009-10 Faculty Council. After the presentations were completed, Chair Hillis informed the voting members that there was a slot for write-in nominations on the ballot. Members cast their votes on the paper ballots that were then collected and tallied.

A. Election of the chair elect.

Professors Brian L. Evans (electrical and computer engineering) and Dean P. Neikirk (electrical and computer engineering) were the nominees; Professor Neikirk was elected.

B. B. Election to the Executive Committee of a member from the Faculty Advisory Committee on Budgets.

Professors Patricia I. Hansen (law) and Thomas G. Palaima (classics) were the nominees; Professor Palaima was elected.

C. C. Election to the Executive Committee of a member from the Educational Policy Committee.

Professors Cynthia J. Buckley (sociology) and Steven J. Friesen (religious studies) were the nominees; Professor Buckley was elected.

D. D. Election to the Executive Committee of a member from the Faculty Welfare Committee.

Professors Andrea C. Gore (pharmacy) and Karrol A. Kitt (human development and family sciences) were the nominees; Professor Gore was elected.


A. Janet Staiger is in the process of making General Faculty Standing Committee assignments for next year. You will be receiving your formal letter in campus mail soon. Thank you for your willingness to serve.
B. Next year, the Joint Meeting with the Texas A&M Faculty Senate will be held at College Station on March 1, 2010; continuing members be sure to mark your calendars. It is an all day event.


C. The 2009-10 Faculty Council meetings are posted on the Faculty Council's web site.


The meeting adjourned at 2:43 P.M.

Distributed through the Faculty Council web site on July 29, 2009.