A-1 Committee of Counsel on Academic Freedom and Responsibility

Chair: Alba A. Ortiz
Chair Elect: David M. Rabban

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

2007-08 Annual Report
2008-09 Annual Report

FUNCTION: To study problems in this area of concern; to advise on such problems or issues referred to it by any member of the faculty, the provost,the president, the chancellor, or the Board of Regents.

COMPOSITION: Seven members chosen at large from and by the voting members of the General Faculty for two-year overlapping terms. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two General Faculty members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. Deans, associate deans, assistant deans, department chairs, and other administrative officials are ineligible for election or appointment. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, both of whom shall be members of the General Faculty. The committee shall always contain a faculty member from the Law School by election or, if no Law School faculty member is elected, by appointment.

Members, 2008-2009:
  Franklin, Cynthia G. S. 2008-2009 professor, social work
  Friedman, Alan W. 2007-2009 professor, English
  Moon, Tessie Jo. 2007-2009 professor, mechanical engineering
  Odell, Edward T. (Ted) 2008-2010 professor, mathematics
  Ortiz, Alba A. 2008-2010 professor, special education
  Parker, Randall M. 2007-2009 professor, special education
  Rabban, David M. 2008-2009 professor, law
  Staiger, Janet 2008-2010 professor, radio-television-film

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Evans, Brian L. 2008-2009 professor, electrical and computer engineering
  Palaima, Thomas G. 2008-2009 professor, classics