A-6 General Faculty Rules and Governance Committee1

Chair: Hillary Hart
Vice Chair: Jonathan F. Bard
Chair Elect: Hillary Hart

Minutes (PDF) September 8, 2008

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

2007-08 Annual Report
2008-09 Annual Report

FUNCTION: To propose changes in the rules of procedure and governance structure of the General Faculty and the Faculty Council, to study all other proposed changes in and additions to the rules of procedure of the General Faculty and the Faculty Council and to submit recommendations to the General Faculty; to make the final ruling in any election dispute or on any election matter not covered by the rules; to handle questions of interpretation of rules; to determine questions of jurisdiction arising between the Faculty Council and the General Faculty.

COMPOSITION: Six members of the General Faculty, including the secretary of the General Faculty and the chair of the Faculty Council. Two members shall be elected by the General Faculty for two-year terms (one each year so that their terms overlap) and each year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two General Faculty members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, both of whom shall be members of the General Faculty.

1Name, function and composition changed in legislation D 6850 in February 2009.

Members, 2008-2009:
  Allison, John R. 2007-2009 chair elect; professor, information, risk, and operations management
  Bard, Jonathan F. 2008-2010 professor, mechanical engineering
  Dzienkowski, John S. 2007-2009 professor, law
  Greninger, Sue A. ex officio Secretary, General Faculty, and associate professor, human ecology
  Hart, Hillary 2007-2009 distinguished senior lecturer, civil, architectural, and environmental engineering

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Abraham, Lawrence D. 2008-2009 professor, curriculum and instruction
  Burns, Neal M. 2008-2009 professor, advertising