C-10 Recruitment and Retention Committee

Chair: Lisa Bedore
Vice Chair: TBD
Chair Elect: TBD in Spring 2009

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

2007-2008 Annual Report

FUNCTION: To address the matter of recruitment and retention of minority students and to advise the Faculty Council and the president on constructive solutions to alleviate the problems of recruitment and retention.

COMPOSITION: Four members of the General Faculty, one departmental faculty minority liaison officer (appointed by the president), two University staff members (at least one of whom shall be an academic adviser or graduate coordinator), four students (student members shall be appointed by the president in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the Student Government and the Graduate Student Assembly and shall include at least one graduate student), coordinator of the UT Learning Center, and three members of the administration. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. The vice president for community and school relations, the vice provost for inclusion and cross cultural effectiveness, a representative from the Black Alumni Association, and a representative from the Hispanic Alumni Association will serve as ex officio members without votes. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty.

Members, 2008-2009:
  Bedore, Lisa 2007-2009 associate professor, communication sciences and disorders
  Brown, Carolyn M. 2007-2009 professor, pharmacy, departmental faculty minority liaison officer
Fernandez, Edward L. ex officio learning specialist IV, UT Learning Center
  Kretzschmar, Jane A.1 2008-2009 clinical professor, social work
  Longoria, Raul G. 2008-2010 professor, mechanical engineering
  Maxwell, Madeline M. 2007-2009 professor, communication studies
1Replacement for Professor Meta D. Jones who is on leave 2008-2009.

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Bomer, Randy 2008-2009 associate professor, curriculum and instruction
  Speed, Shannon 2008-2009 assistant professor, anthropology

Two Staff:
  McQueary, Kelly J. 2007-2009 academic advisor II, chemical engineering
  TBD 2008-2010 Staff Member, graduate program coordinator

Three Members of Administration (with vote):
  Chen , Ge 2008-2009 special assistant to the vice president, diversity and community engagement
  Garza, Augustine 2008-2009 deputy director, admissions
  Grant, Darlene 2008-2009 associate dean, graduate school

Four Students:
  Barrera, Rachel E. 2008-2009 Graduate Student Assembly representative
  Fernandez, Tanya 2008-2009 Student Government representative
  Fosse, Chelsea 2008-2009 Student Government representative
  Juraschek, Andrew 2008-2009 Student Government representative

Administrative Advisors:
  DeLeon, Benjamin S. ex officio Hispanic Alumni Association representative
  Gibson, Machree G. ex officio Black Alumni Association representative
  Vincent, Gregory J. ex officio vice president for inclusion and cross cultural effectiveness