C-11 Research Policy Committee

Chair: Paula M. Poindexter
Vice Chair: Renita B. Coleman

Minutes (PDF): March 27
February 23
December 8
April 24
May 11
May 14

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

2007-08 Annual Report
2008-09 Annual Report

FUNCTION: To advise the president on matters relating to the research mission of the University and relationship between the research mission and other components of the University's overall mission. To provide for wider dissemination of information concerning the research mission of the University and how that mission is being discharged.

COMPOSITION: Nine members of the General Faculty, one school or college administrator (associate dean for research), two research staff members, one undergraduate student, and two graduate students. Student members shall be appointed by the president in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the Student Senate and the Graduate Student Assembly. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. No more than two faculty members of the committee shall be from a given college or school. At least one of the graduate student members of the committee shall be enrolled in one of the Ph.D. programs of the graduate school. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, both of whom shall be members of the General Faculty. Both the vice president for research and the vice provost and dean of graduate studies shall serve as administrative advisers to the committee without vote.

Members, 2008-2009:
  Biegalski, Steven R. 2008-2010 assistant professor, mechanical engineering
  Coleman, Renita B. 2008-2009 assistant professor, journalism
  Keckler, Stephen W. 2007-2009 professor, computer sciences
  Loukas, Alexandra 2008-2010 associate professor, kinesiology and health education
  Perlman, Paula J. 2008-2010 professor, classics
  Poindexter, Paula M. 2007-2009 associate professor, journalism
  Riley, Peter J. 2007-2009 professor and associate dean for research, physics
  Velasquez, Mary M. 2008-2010 professor, social work
  Zimic, Stanislav 2008-2010 professor, Spanish and Portuguese

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Kutanoglu, Erhan 2008-2009 associate professor, mechanical engineering
  Longaker, Mark G. 2008-2009 assistant professor, rhetoric and writing

Two Research Staff:
  Loucks, Robert G. 2007-2009 senior research scientist, economic geology
  Toler, Libbie A. 2008-2010 administrative associate, Center for Transportation Research

One College or School Administrator:
  Slesnick, Daniel T. 2008-2009

associate dean, liberal arts

Three Students:
  Chadee, Amanda B. 2008-2009 Graduate Student Assembly representative
  Hodgsen, Trent S. 2008-2009 Senate of College Councils representative
  Stone, Alexandra B. 2008-2009 Graduate Student Assembly representative

Administrative Advisors:
  Rodriguez, Victoria ex officio vice provost and dean of graduate studies
  Sanchez, Juan M. ex officio vice president for research