C-3 Commencement and Academic Ceremonies Committee

Chair: Yolanda C. Padilla
Vice Chair: Cynthia S. Salinas
Chair Elect: Cynthia S. Salinas

Minutes (PDF) September 8, 2008

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

2007-08 Annual Report
2008-09 Annual Report

FUNCTION: To advise the Faculty Council, the president, and academic deans on policy matters, including selection of speakers, in planning graduation, Honors Day, and other formal academic ceremonies.

COMPOSITION: Four members of the General Faculty, two staff members, one graduate student, and two undergraduate students. Student members shall be appointed by the president in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the Student Government and the Graduate Student Assembly. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty. A representative of the Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs, the director of the Department of Facilities Services, the director of University Bands, and the executive director of the Ex-Students' Association shall serve as administrative advisers without votes.

Members, 2008-2009:
Mosadomi, Fehintola A. 2008-2010 professor, Middle Eastern studies
  Padilla, Yolanda C. 2007-2009 professor, social work
  Salinas, Cynthia S. 2007-2009 associate professor, curriculum and instruction
  Wheat, Harovel G. 2007-2009 associate professor, mechanical engineering

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Cummings, Molly E. 2007-2008 assistant professor, integrative biology
  Perez, Domino R. 2008-2009 associate professor, English

Two Staff:
  Kline, Dianne R. 2008-2010 senior administrative associate, instructional innovation and assessment
  Vacant1 2007-2009 public affairs specialist II, liberal arts

1Jennifer L. McAndrew left the university February 20, 2009.

Three Students:
  Jung, Sally 2008-2009 Student Government representative
  Meyerson, Rachel 2008-2009 Student Government representative
  Mix, Kerry 2008-2009 Graduate Student Assembly representative

Administrative Advisers:
  Airaudi, Whitney F. ex officio director of events and awards, Ex-Students’ Association
  Clagett, Susan W. ex officio associate vice president, relationship management and university events
  Graham, John M. ex officio director, Erwin Special Events Center
  Junkin, Jerry F. ex officio director of UT Bands, professor, music
  Miller, Michael A. ex officio interim director, facilities services
  Reagins-Lilly, Soncia R. ex officio senior associate vice president and dean of students