C-6 International Programs and Studies Committee

Chair: Patricia I. Hansen
Vice Chair: Joseph Straubhaar
Chair Elect: Kenneth J. Hale

Minutes (PDF): September 19, 2008

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

2007-08 Annual Report
2008-09 Annual Report

FUNCTION: To advise the Faculty Council and the  executive vice president and provost on policies and procedures pertinent to the development, implementation, and operation of international programs at the University and pedagogical and research programs involving overseas study and/or work with internationally oriented agencies.

COMPOSITION: At least five members of the General Faculty and two students. Student members shall be appointed by the president in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the appropriate student committee. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. At least one faculty member of the committee shall be a member of a foreign language department. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty.The president, through delegation of authority to the executive vice president and provost, shall appoint annually, as administrative advisers without vote, the vice provosts for undergraduate studies and for graduate studies, one person selected from the academic associate deans of the colleges and schools, one person selected from among the directors of UT Austin area studies centers, and one person selected from among the assistants to the UT Austin administration in the area of international programs and student services related thereto.

Members, 2008-2009:
  Belgum, Kirsten L. 2008-2010 associate professor, Germanic studies
  Gerber, Linda V. 2007-2009 senior lecturer, marketing
  Hale, Kenneth J. 2008-2010 professor, art and art history
  Lujan, Marta E. 2007-2009 professor, Spanish and Portuguese

Straubhaar, Joseph 2008-2010 professor, radio-television-film

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Birkholz, Daniel J. 2008-2009 assistant professor, English
  Hansen, Patricia I. 2008-2009 professor, law

Two Students:
  Deussner, Bernhard 2008-2009 Student Government representative
  Serice, Lauren 2008-2009 Student Government representative

Administrative Advisers:
  Abraham, Itty ex officio director, South Asia Institute
  Aghaie, Kamran S. ex officio associate professor, Middle Eastern studies
  Givens, Terri E. ex officio vice provost
  Hamir, Heather Barclay ex officio assistant director, International Office
  Rodriguez, Victoria ex officio vice provost, graduate studies