C-6 International Programs and Studies Committee

Chair: Kenneth J. Hale
Vice Chair: Joseph Straubhaar
Chair Elect: Joseph Straubhaar

Minutes (PDF): October 26.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

2008-09 Annual Report

FUNCTION: To advise the Faculty Council and the  executive vice president and provost on policies and procedures pertinent to the development, implementation, and operation of international programs at the University and pedagogical and research programs involving overseas study and/or work with internationally oriented agencies.

COMPOSITION: At least five members of the General Faculty and two students. Student members shall be appointed by the president in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the appropriate student committee. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. At least one faculty member of the committee shall be a member of a foreign language department. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty.The president, through delegation of authority to the executive vice president and provost, shall appoint annually, as administrative advisors without vote, the vice provosts for undergraduate studies and for graduate studies, one person selected from the academic associate deans of the colleges and schools, one person selected from among the directors of UT Austin area studies centers, and one person selected from among the assistants to the UT Austin administration in the area of international programs and student services related thereto.

Members, 2009-10:
  Ali, Samer M. 2009-2011 associate professor, Middle Eastern studies
  Belgum, Kirsten L. 2008-2010 associate professor, Germanic studies
  Ferreira, Paulo J. 2009-2011 assistant professor, mechanical engineering
  Hale, Kenneth J. 2008-2010 professor, art and art history
  Straubhaar, Joseph 2008-2010 professor, radio-television-film

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Cullingford, Elizabeth 2009-2010 professor, English
  Hake, Sabine 2009-2010 professor, Germanic studies

Two Students:
  Foreman, Sophie Lydia 2009-2010 Student Government representative
  Patel, Geera C. 2009-2010 Student Government representative

Administrative Advisors:
  Abraham, Itty ex officio director, South Asia Institute
  Ellzey, Janet ex officio vice provost
  Hamir, Heather Barclay ex officio assistant director, International Office
  Rodriguez, Victoria ex officio vice provost, graduate studies
  TBD ex officio Austin administration from the area of international programs and student services