View in portable document format.

Parking and Traffic Appeals Panel

The purpose of this committee is to review appeals for fines arising from enforcement by the Parking and Traffic Services administration of the University’s parking and traffic regulations. A person receiving a fine can appeal first to the Parking and Traffic Services staff and, if not satisfied with the result, can appeal further to the committee to consider their case for reduction or dismissal of the fine.

The committee is divided into six review panels, each with six or seven members. Each review panel considers a group of appeals, generally five at a time over a two-week period. The individual panel members electronically review the evidence presented by the Parking and Traffic Services administration and the counter arguments presented by the appellant and vote either to uphold, reduce, or dismiss the fine. The chair of the committee reviews the votes of the panel members on each case and makes the final decision on the appeal. There is no further avenue for appeal beyond this committee. Generally, about three-quarters of the committee’s membership responds when asked to review appeals and this produces four to six responses per appeal, enough to gain a collective sense of how each appeal is viewed by the committee members.

To date, the committee has considered 113 cases, none of which were held over. This compares to 132 cases from the previous academic year. The committee is currently considering forty-one new appeals and will continue to do so during the summer as appeals come in.

The committee has elected Alexandra Garcia as its chair elect, and she will become the chair of the committee at the beginning of the 2011-12 academic year.

The committee chair wishes to record his appreciation for the timely and thorough manner in which the committee members have performed their duties during this year and for the considerable help that he has received from Parking and Traffic Services staff, Jeri Baker, Margaret Rogers and Shola Esho, in the operation of the committee.

George Sylvie, chair