The University of Texas at Austin- What Starts Here Changes the World
Services Navigation

UT Direct


A-1 Committee of Counsel on Academic Freedom and Responsibility

Chair: Brian L. Evans
Chair Elect: Brian L. Evans

Minutes (PDF): To be posted following first meeting.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

2009-10 Annual Report

FUNCTION: To study problems in this area of concern; to advise on such problems or issues referred to it by any member of the faculty, the provost,the president, the chancellor, or the Board of Regents.

COMPOSITION: Seven members chosen at large from and by the voting members of the General Faculty for two-year overlapping terms. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two General Faculty members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. Deans, associate deans, assistant deans, department chairs, and other administrative officials are ineligible for election or appointment. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, both of whom shall be members of the General Faculty. The committee shall always contain a faculty member from the Law School by election or, if no Law School faculty member is elected, by appointment.

Members, 2010-11:
  Canright, Sarah A. 2010-2011 senior lecturer, art and art history
  Hart, Hillary 2009-2011 distinguished senior lecturer, civil, architectural, and environmental engineering
  Hilley, Martha F. 2010-2012 professor, music
  Jensen, Robert W. 2010-2012 professor, journalism
  Lawler, Desmond F. 2009-2011 professor, civil, architectural, and environmental engineering
  Ortiz, Alba A. 2010-2012 professor, special education
  Palaima, Thomas G. 2009-2011 professor, classics
  Rabban, David M. 2010-2011 professor, law, past chair

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Cloud, Dana L. 2010-2011 associate professor, communication studies
  Evans, Brian L. 2010-2011 professor, electrical and computer engineering

Replaced Alan W. Friedman who resigned from the committee, effective September 1, 2010.



  Updated 2013 October 18
  Copyright | Privacy | Accessibility
  Comments to or
  Contact Sue Alexander Greninger, Secretary,
  General Faculty and Faculty Council