The University of Texas at Austin- What Starts Here Changes the World
Services Navigation

UT Direct


A-3 Faculty Committee on Committees

Acting Chair: Megan Seaholm
Vice Chair: Barbara L. Davis
Chair Elect: Nancy Kwallek

Minutes (PDF): Jan. 28, 2011

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

2009-10 Annual Report

****Nomination Reports for General Faculty Standing Committees****

FUNCTION: To advise the president on personnel for standing committees of the General Faculty and the uses to be made of the committee system; to make recommendations to the Faculty Council regarding changes in composition, functions, and responsibilities of standing committees, including term limits and voting rights of committee members.1

COMPOSITION: Nine members of the General Faculty, at least six of them appointed from a panel of twelve faculty members elected by the General Faculty through the Hare System of voting. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two General Faculty members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. The secretary of the General Faculty (ex officio) and the chair elect of the Faculty Council (non-voting ex officio) shall also be members of the committee. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, both of whom shall be members of the General Faculty. No member except the secretary of the General Faculty may serve continuously for more than four years.

1Revisions (D 7845-7846) approved by the Faculty Council on February 25, 2010. Final approval was received from the president on September 3, 2010.

Members, 2010-11:
Agarwala, Seema 2010-2012 associate professor, neurobiology
Davis, Barbara L. 2010-2012 professor, communication sciences and disorders
Franquiz, Maria E.1 2010-2011 associate professor, curriculum and instruction
Friedman, Alan W. ex officio without vote 2010-11 Faculty Council chair elect, professor, English
Greninger, Sue A. ex officio secretary, General Faculty, and associate professor, human development and family sciences
Hilley, Martha F.2 2010-2011 professor, music
Kwallek, Nancy 2010-2011 professor, architecture
Marshall, Stephen H. 2010-2012 assistant professor, American studies
Ruiz, Roberta J. 2010-2012 associate professor, nursing
Seaholm, Megan 2009-2011 lecturer, history
Springer, David W. 2009-2011 associate dean, social work
TBD3 2011-2012 General Faculty Member

Appointed from a panel of names submitted by the Committee on Committees.
Appointed from a panel of names elected by the General Faculty.
Marilla D. Svinicki resigned from the committee effective the first class day of fall 2010.
Replaced Kamran Ali who is on leave for the 2010-11 academic year.
Rose Taylor resigned from the committee effective April 26, 2011. Her replacement is to be determined.

Faculty Council Appointees:
  March, Hunter C. 2010-2011 professor, music
  Salinas, Cinthia S. 2010-2011 associate professor, curriculum and instruction




  Updated 2013 October 18
  Copyright | Privacy | Accessibility
  Comments to or
  Contact Sue Alexander Greninger, Secretary,
  General Faculty and Faculty Council