The University of Texas at Austin- What Starts Here Changes the World
Services Navigation

UT Direct


B-3 Student Life and Activities Committee

Chair: Alexandra K. Wettlaufer
Vice Chair: Richard J. Reddick
Chair Elect: Richard J. Reddick

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

Legislation (D 7790) to create this new committee was approved by the Faculty Council on January 25, 2010.

FUNCTION: To look at issues concerning student life and activities from an academic perspective; to gauge whether student activities are beneficial to students’ education; to review and report to the Faculty Council annually about the status of intercollegiate athletics programs.

COMPOSITION: Seven faculty members elected at large from and by the voting members of the General Faculty for two-year overlapping terms. Three students: one each appointed by the Graduate Student Assembly, Student Government, and the Senate of College Councils. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two General Faculty members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. Ex officio members will include the Faculty-appointed representative to Coalition on Intercollegiate Athletics (COIA) with vote and the Faculty Athletic Representative without vote. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, both of whom shall be members of the General Faculty.

Members, 2010-11:
  Bernstein, Mark E. 2010-2011 associate dean, communication
  Chase, Craig M. 2010-2011 associate professor, electrical and computer engineering
  Lawler, Desmond F. 2010-2012 professor, civil, architectural, and environmental engineering
  Potter, Joseph E. 2010-2012 professor, sociology
  Reddick, Richard J. 2010-2011 asistant professor, educational administration
  Starbird, Michael P. 2010-2012 professor, mathematics
  Wiltshire, Lyn C. 2010-2012 associate professor, theatre and dance

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Maynard, Jennifer A. 2010-2011 assistant professor, chemical engineering
  Wettlaufer, Alexandra K.

2010-2011 professor, French and Italian

Three Students:
  Daley, Matthew O. 2010-2011 Student Government representative
  Deleon, Michael R. 2010-2011 Graduate Student Assembly representative
  Morton, Michael R. 2010-2011 Senate of College Councils representative

Administrative Advisor:
  Palaima, Thomas G. ex officio
with vote
faculty representative on the Coalition on Intercollegiate Athletics (COIA), professor, classics
  Vick, James W. ex officio
without vote
faculty representative, Men's Athletics Council, professor, mathematics




  Updated 2013 October 18
  Copyright | Privacy | Accessibility
  Comments to or
  Contact Sue Alexander Greninger, Secretary,
  General Faculty and Faculty Council