The University of Texas at Austin- What Starts Here Changes the World
Services Navigation

UT Direct


C-10 Recruitment and Retention Committee

Chair: Cherise Smith
Vice Chair: TBD in fall 2010.
Chair Elect: TBD in spring 2011.

Minutes (PDF): To be posted following first meeting.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

2009-10 Annual Report

FUNCTION: To address the matter of recruitment and retention of minority students and to advise the Faculty Council and the president on constructive solutions to alleviate the problems of recruitment and retention.

COMPOSITION: Four members of the General Faculty, one departmental faculty minority liaison officer (appointed by the president), two University staff members (at least one of whom shall be an academic advisor or graduate coordinator), four students (student members shall be appointed by the president in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the Student Government and the Graduate Student Assembly and shall include at least one graduate student), coordinator of the Sanger Learning and Career Center1, and three members of the administration. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. The vice president for community and school relations, the vice provost for inclusion and cross cultural effectiveness, a representative from the Black Alumni Association, and a representative from the Hispanic Alumni Association will serve as ex officio members without votes. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty.

1Name changed from UT Learning Center to Sanger Learning and Career Center in September 2010.

Members, 2010-11:
  Berg, Charles Ramirez 2010-2012 professor, radio-television-film
Fernandez, Edward L. ex officio assistant director, Sanger Learning and Career Center
  Hackett, Jo Ann 2010-2012 professor, Middle Eastern studies
  Henderson, Geraldine 2009-2011 associate professor, advertising (past chair)
  Maxwell, Madeline 2009-2011 professor, communication studies, departmental faculty minority liaison officer
  Wheat, Harovel 2009-2011 associate professor, mechanical engineering

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Clement, Michael B. 2010-2011 associate professor, accounting
  Smith, Cherise 2010-2011 assistant professor, art and art history

Two Staff:
  Guzman, Peter 2010-2012 senior academic advisor, natural sciences
  Smith, Jennifer L. 2009-2011 student affairs administrator, natural sciences

Three Members of Administration (with vote):
  Garza, Augustine 2010-2011 deputy director, admissions
  Harkins, Susan C. 2010-2011 program director, natural sciences
  Regalado, John P. 2010-2011 senior program coordinator, Learning Communities Program

Four Students:
  Bhagia, Kanishka 2010-2011 Student Government representative
  Gunn, Margaret A. 2010-2011 Student Government representative
  James, Wintress D. 2010-2011 Student Government representative
  Wang, Jennifer 2010-2011 Graduate Student Assembly representative

Administrative Advisors:
  Hughes, Alshare ex officio Black Alumni Association representative
  Stidvent, Veronica Vargas ex officio Hispanic Alumni Association representative
  Vincent, Gregory J. ex officio vice president for inclusion and cross cultural effectiveness