The University of Texas at Austin- What Starts Here Changes the World
Services Navigation

UT Direct


C-11 Research Policy Committee

Chair: Paula Poindexter
Vice Chair: Eileen Fowles
Chair Elect: Rebecca Bigler

Minutes (PDF): To be posted following first meeting.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

2009-10 Annual Report

FUNCTION: To advise the Faculty Council and the president on matters relating to the research mission of the University and relationship between the research mission and other components of the University's overall mission. To provide for wider dissemination of information concerning the research mission of the University and how that mission is being discharged.

COMPOSITION: Nine members of the General Faculty, one school or college administrator (associate dean for research), two research staff members, one undergraduate student, and two graduate students. Student members shall be appointed by the president in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the Student Senate and the Graduate Student Assembly. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. No more than two faculty members of the committee shall be from a given college or school. At least one of the graduate student members of the committee shall be enrolled in one of the Ph.D. programs of the graduate school. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, both of whom shall be members of the General Faculty. Both the vice president for research and the vice provost and dean of graduate studies shall serve as administrative advisors to the committee without vote.

Members, 2010-11:
  Abrevaya, Jason 2010-2012 professor, economics
  Bigler, Rebecca 2010-2012 professor, psychology
  Boyarchenko, Svetlana 2010-2012 associate professor, economics
  Domjan, Wendy 2010-2012 distinguished senior lecturer, psychology
  Keckler, Stephen 2009-2011 professor, computer science
  Kutanoglu, Erhan 2009-2011 associate professor, mechanical engineering
  Marcotte, Edward M. 2010-2012 professor, chemistry and biochemistry
  Poindexter, Paula 2009-2011 associate professor, journalism
  Robinson, Daniel 2009-2011 professor, educational psychology

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Fowles, Eileen R. 2010-2011 assistant professor, nursing
  Srinivasan, Rajashri 2010-2011 associate professor, marketing

Two Research Staff:
  Banks, Sean 2010-2012 research associate and programmer, Population Research Center
  Burnham, Anne D. 2009-2011 GPS data analyst, ARL

One College or School Administrator:
  Ekerdt, John G. 2010-2011

associate dean for research, engineering

Three Students:
  Easley, Jeffrey 2010-2011 Graduate Student Assembly representative
  Kaoud, Tamer S. 2010-2011 Graduate Student Assembly representative
  Nietsche, Carisa K. 2010-2011 Senate of College Councils representative

Administrative Advisors:
  Rodriguez, Victoria ex officio vice provost and dean of graduate studies
  Sanchez, Juan M. ex officio vice president for research



  Updated 2013 October 18
  Copyright | Privacy | Accessibility
  Comments to or
  Contact Sue Alexander Greninger, Secretary,
  General Faculty and Faculty Council