The University of Texas at Austin- What Starts Here Changes the World
Services Navigation

UT Direct


C-13 Information Technology Committee

Chair: David Neubert
Vice Chair: Betsy Greenberg
Chair Elect: Betsy Greenberg

Minutes (doc): July 22.
Sept. 9
Oct. 8

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

2009-10 Annual Report

FUNCTION: To recommend to the president, and to the vice-president for information technology, and to the Faculty Council changes in policies regarding information technology; to consult with and advise the vice-president for information technology about policies and procedures pertaining to information technology at The University.

COMPOSITION: Five members of the General Faculty, four staff members, and three students1. Staff members shall be appointed to two-year rotating terms by the president, from a panel of names submitted by the Staff Council. At least two of the staff member representatives shall not be employed in IT-related areas. One student member shall be appointed to a one-year term by the president in the fall from a panel of names submitted by each of the Student Government and the student senate, and one member shall be appointed to a one-year term by the president from a panel of names submitted by the Graduate Student Assembly. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty. The University Chief Information Officer shall serve as an ex-officio member without vote. A representative from each of the following shall be selected by the president to serve as an administrative advisor without vote: the Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL),2 the college and school technology coordinators, financial affairs, department chairs.

Members, 2010-11:
  Browne, Simone A. 2010-2012 assistant professor, information
  Francisco-Revilla, Luis 2010-2012 assistant professor, information
  Greenberg, Betsy 2009-2011 associate professor, information, risk, and operations management
  Mitra, Shyamal 2009-2011 lecturer, computer science
  Neubert, David 2009-2011 professor, music (chair)
  Resta, Paul 2010-2012 professor, curriculum and instruction (past chair)
  Wilcox, Gary B. 2010-2012 professor, advertising
  Wiley, Darlene3 2009-2011 professor, music


1 Composition of the committee changed with D 5330, which was approved by the president on July 31, 2007.
2On July 22, 2010, it was announced that the Division of Instructional Innovation and Assessment at The University of Texas at Austin will be renamed the Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL), effective Aug. 16, as part of an initiative by Executive Vice President and Provost Steven Leslie to strengthen the division's role in supporting educational excellence.
3Replaced Sharon Strover who resigned from the committee effective December 9, 2009.

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Doty, Philip 2010-2011 associate professor, information
  Osborne, Cynthia 2010-2011 associate professor, public affairs

Four Staff
  Boldovici, John D. 2009-2011 senior LAN administrator, Center for Teaching and Learning
  Fulton, Chad 2010-2012 program coordinator, Center for Teaching and Learning
  Howe, Joseph (Joe) 2010-2012 senior IT manager, engineering
  Sitar, Meghan E. 2009-2011 instruction and outreach librarian, libraries

Three Students
  Hagerman, Adam J. 2010-2011 Senate of College Councils representative
  Hardy, Molly O. 2010-2011 Graduate Student Assembly representative
  Ramos, Kevin F. 2010-2011 Student Government representative

Administrative Advisors (without vote):
  Chang, Frederick R. ex officio representative college and school technology coordinators, associate dean, natural sciences
  Englert, Bradley G. ex officio associate vice president and chief information officer, ITS
  Evans, Shan W. ex officio director, Center for Teaching and Learning
  Hatfield, Alice E.1 ex officio senior software developer/analyst, Budget Office (financial affairs representative)
1Replaced Athena H. Reynolds effective May 2, 2011.




  Updated 2013 October 18
  Copyright | Privacy | Accessibility
  Comments to or
  Contact Sue Alexander Greninger, Secretary,
  General Faculty and Faculty Council