The University of Texas at Austin- What Starts Here Changes the World
Services Navigation

UT Direct


C-5 Faculty Building Advisory Committee

Chair: Samuel W. Wilson
Vice Chair: TBD in fall 2010.
Chair Elect: TBD in spring 2011.

Minutes (PDF): To be posted following first meeting.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

2009-10 Annual Report

FUNCTION: To represent the faculty, staff, and students in the planning and programming of buildings. The committee shall have a strong voice in (a) campus master planning, (b) priority of building construction, (c) building location, (d) programming of buildings, and (e) reviewing and recommending of final plans. It shall report to the president and periodically to the Faculty Council. During the preparation of the preliminary plans for the erection of a particular building, the president shall appoint a special committee, composed of faculty (and students, when appropriate) who have a direct interest in the proposed building, to serve until the completion thereof, one of whom shall be designated as a voting member of the Faculty Building Advisory Committee for the specified building. Whenever a building is to include library facilities, the University librarian is to be added as an administrative advisor to the special committee.

COMPOSITION: Nine members of the General Faculty, including a representative from the School of Architecture; one member of the University staff; one graduate student; and two undergraduate students. Student members shall be appointed by the president in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the Student Government and the Graduate Student Assembly, and they shall serve one-year terms and shall be eligible for reappointment. The students may not be from the same college or school. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty. The vice president for employee and campus services or a delegate shall be an ex officio member. The director of UT System Office of Facilities Planning and Construction and a representative from the Office of Campus Planning and Facilities Management shall serve as administrative advisors without vote. The faculty and staff members are appointed for five year, overlapping terms, two rotating off each year.

Members, 2010-11:
  Charles, Michael Ray 2006-2011 professor, art and art history
  Cline, Alan K. 2008-2013 professor, computer science
  Diller, Kenneth R. 2006-2011 professor, biomedical engineering
  Freeland-Graves, Jeanne H. 2007-2012 professor, nutritional sciences
  Gilbert, Robert B. 2009-2014 professor, civil, architectural, and environmental engineering
  Kwallek, Nancy P. 2009-2014 professor, architecture
  Roberts, Brian E. 2010-2015 professor, government
  Speck, Lawrence W. 2010-2015 professor, architecture
Wood, Sharon L. 2008-2013 professor, civil, architectural, and environmental engineering

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Odell, Edward W. (Ted) 2010-2011 professor, mathematics
  Wilson, Samuel W. 2010-2011 professor, anthropology

One Staff :
  Ellinger, Jeff 2010-2015 technical coordinator, Texas Performing Arts
Three Students:
  Bochev, Simeon P. 2010-2011 Student Government representative
  Houston, Andrew G. 2010-2011 Student Government representative
  Wang, Jennifer 2010-2011 Graduate Student Assembly representative

Administrative Advisors:
  Clubb, Patricia L. ex officio vice president for employee and campus services
  Dixon, David R. ex officio administrative advisor, UT System, Facilities Planning and Construction
  Rea, David L. ex officio associate vice president for campus planning and facilities management



  Updated 2013 October 18
  Copyright | Privacy | Accessibility
  Comments to or
  Contact Sue Alexander Greninger, Secretary,
  General Faculty and Faculty Council