The University of Texas at Austin- What Starts Here Changes the World
Services Navigation

UT Direct


C-6 International Programs and Studies Committee

Chair: Joseph Straubhaar
Vice Chair: TBD in fall 2010.
Chair Elect: TBD in spring 2011.

Minutes (PDF): To be posted following first meeting.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

2009-10 Annual Report

FUNCTION: To advise the Faculty Council and the  executive vice president and provost on policies and procedures pertinent to the development, implementation, and operation of international programs at the University and pedagogical and research programs involving overseas study and/or work with internationally oriented agencies.

COMPOSITION: At least five members of the General Faculty and two students. Student members shall be appointed by the president in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the appropriate student committee. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. At least one faculty member of the committee shall be a member of a foreign language department. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty.The president, through delegation of authority to the executive vice president and provost, shall appoint annually, as administrative advisors without vote, the vice provosts for undergraduate studies and for graduate studies, one person selected from the academic associate deans of the colleges and schools, one person selected from among the directors of UT Austin area studies centers, and one person selected from among the assistants to the UT Austin administration in the area of international programs and student services related thereto.

Members, 2010-11:
  Ali, Samer M. 2009-2011 associate professor, Middle Eastern studies
  Dell’Antonio, Andrew 2010-2012 professor, music
  Ferreira, Paulo J. 2009-2011 associate professor, mechanical engineering
  Gilbert, Dorie J. 2010-2012 associate professor, social work
  Platt, David E. 2010-2012 senior lecturer, accounting
  Straubhaar, Joseph 2010-2011 professor, radio-television-film

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Carson, Loftus C. 2010-2011 professor, law
  Kinney, Kerry A. 2010-2011 professor, civil, architectural, and environmental engineering

Two Students:
  Freed, Benjamin S. 2010-2011 Student Government representative
  Kachhla, Namisha R. 2010-2011 Student Government representative

Administrative Advisors:
  Ellzey, Janet ex officio vice provost
  Hamir, Heather Barclay ex officio director for study abroad, International Office
  Hansen, Kathryn G. ex officio interim director, South Asia Institute
  Rodriguez, Victoria ex officio vice provost, graduate studies



  Updated 2013 October 18
  Copyright | Privacy | Accessibility
  Comments to or
  Contact Sue Alexander Greninger, Secretary,
  General Faculty and Faculty Council