A-6 General Faculty Rules and Governance Committee

Chair: Dean Neikirk
Vice Chair: TBD
Chair Elect: Dean Neikirk

Minutes (PDF):

To be posted following first meeting.
The committee will hold it's initial meeting on Monday, September 12 in the Main 212 at 2:15 P.M.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

2010-11 Annual Report

FUNCTION: To propose changes in the rules of procedure and governance structure of the General Faculty and the Faculty Council; to propose changes to the general voting rights of the General Faculty; to study all other proposed changes in and additions to the rules of procedure of the General Faculty and the Faculty Council; and to submit recommendations to the Faculty Council. If the recommendations concern the Faculty Council, the Committee will report also to the President, as the head of the General Faculty. In addition, this committee’s function is to make the final ruling in any election dispute or on any election matter not covered by the rules; to handle questions of interpretation of rules; and to determine questions of jurisdiction arising between the Faculty Council and the General Faculty.

COMPOSITION: Six members of the General Faculty, including the secretary of the General Faculty and the chair of the Faculty Council. Two members shall be elected by the General Faculty for two-year terms (one each year so that their terms overlap) and each year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two General Faculty members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, both of whom shall be members of the General Faculty.

Members, 2011-12:
  Friedman, Alan W. 2011-2012 professor, English, Faculty Council chair
  Greninger, Sue A. 2011-2012 secretary, General Faculty, and associate professor, human development and family sciences
  Neikirk, Dean 2011-2013 professor, electrical and computer engineering
  Staiger, Janet 2010-2012 professor, radio-television-film

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Ali, Samer M. 2011-2012 associate professor, Middle Eastern studies
  Hart, Hillary 2011-2012 senior lecturer, civil, architectural, and environmental engineering