C-10 Recruitment and Retention Committee

Chair: TBD
Vice Chair: Kevin Foster
Chair Elect: TBD no later than February 2012.
Minutes (PDF): To be posted following first meeting.

The initial meeting will be held Monday Sept 12th at 2:15 PM in the Board of Directors Room (4.118) at the Texas Union Building.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

2010-11 Annual Report

FUNCTION: To address the matter of recruitment and retention of minority students and to advise the Faculty Council and the president on constructive solutions to alleviate the problems of recruitment and retention.

COMPOSITION: Four members of the General Faculty, one departmental faculty minority liaison officer (appointed by the president), two University staff members (at least one of whom shall be an academic advisor or graduate coordinator), four students (student members shall be appointed by the president in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the Student Government and the Graduate Student Assembly and shall include at least one graduate student), coordinator of the Sanger Learning and Career Center1, and three members of the administration. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. The vice president for community and school relations, the vice provost for inclusion and cross cultural effectiveness, a representative from the Black Alumni Association, and a representative from the Hispanic Alumni Association will serve as ex officio members without votes. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty.

1Name changed from UT Learning Center to Sanger Learning and Career Center in September 2010.

Members, 2011-12:
  Clement, Michael B.1 2011-2012 professor, accounting
  Coleman, Renita B. 2011-2013 associate professor, journalism, departmental faculty minority liaison officer
Fernandez, Edward L. ex officio assistant director, Sanger Learning and Career Center
  Foster, Kevin M. 2011-2013 assistant professor, educational administration
  Maynard, Jennifer A. 2011-2013 assistant professor, chemical engineering
  Vessely, Thomas R.2 2011-2012 senior lecturer, French and Italian

1Charles Ramirez Berg resigned from the committee in April 2011.
2Jo Ann Hackett resigned from the committee on August 12, 2011.

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Abzug, Robert3 2011-2012 professor, history
  Tutuc, Emanuel 2011-2012 assistant professor, electrical and computer engineering

3Arturo de Lozanne resigned from the committee on December 15, 2011.

Two Staff:
  Gonzales, Mickey L. 2011-2013 senior academic advisor, nursing
  Guzman, Peter 2010-2012 senior academic advisor, natural sciences

Three Members of Administration (with vote):
  Garza, Augustine 2011-2012 deputy director, admissions
  Harkins, Susan C. 2011-2012 program director, natural sciences
  White, Phaedra A. 2011-2012 program coordinator, Learning Communities Program

Four Students:
  Gunn, Margaret A. 2011-2012 Student Government representative
  Jia, Julie Wei 2011-2012 Student Government representative
  Sandoval, Michael A. 2011-2012 Graduate Student Assembly representative
  Tran, Stephen A. 2011-2012 Student Government representative

Administrative Advisors:
  Hughes, Alshare ex officio Black Alumni Association representative
  Stidvent, Veronica Vargas ex officio Hispanic Alumni Association representative
  Vincent, Gregory J. ex officio vice president for inclusion and cross cultural effectiveness