C-4 Educational Policy Committee

Chair: Janet Staiger
Vice Chair: Thomas Garza
Chair Elect: Mary Rose

Minutes (PDF):

To be posted following first meeting.
The first meeting of Educational Policy will be Friday, September 9, 3:00-4:00pm, place to be determined.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

2010-11 Annual Report

FUNCTION: To study proposals on educational policy and assess their possibilities and alternatives; to present recommendations on such matters to the Faculty Council. The committee shall actively seek advice from students.

COMPOSITION: Nine members of the General Faculty and four students. The four student members shall be selected by the Senate of College Councils and the Graduate Student Assembly. The Senate of College Councils will select three undergraduate students. All undergraduate members must be from different Colleges and include at least one lower-division undergraduate and one upper-division undergraduate. The Graduate Student Assembly will select one graduate student, who is or has served as an Assistant Instructor or Teaching Assistant in an undergraduate course at UT Austin. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. All other members from the General Faculty shall be appointed by the president and serve two-year staggered terms. The committee shall elect its own chair, who shall be a member of the General Faculty. The provost, the dean of Undergraduate Studies, and the director of the Measurement and Evaluation Center, representing the Center for Teaching and Learning, and the registrar shall serve as administrative advisors without votes. The chair of the Student Deans' Committee and a representative of the Academic Counselors' Association, elected by the Academic Counselors' Association Officers, shall serve as consultants without votes.

Members, 2011-12:
Cummings, Molly E. 2010-2012 associate professor, integrative biology
Delgado, Cesar 2010-2012 assistant professor, curriculum and instruction
Garza, Thomas J. 2011-2013 associate professor, Slavic and Eurasian studies
Grady, Mack 2011-2013 professor, electrical and computer engineering
Payne, Shelley M. 2010-2012 professor, molecular genetics and microbiology
Rose, Mary 2011-2013 associate professor, sociology
Shankland, Martin 2011-2013 professor, molecular cell and developmental biology
Staiger, Janet1 2010-2012 professor radio-television-film
Valvano, Jonathan W. 2010-2012 professor, electrical and computer engineering

1Randall M. Parker, professor, special educaiton, resigned from the committee in early September 2010.

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Henninger, Jacqueline C. 2011-2012 assistant professor, music
  Wiley, Darlene C. 2011-2012 professor, music

Four Students:
  Fjelstul, Joshua C. 2011-2012 Senate of College Councils representative
  Long, Samuel (Reid) 2011-2012 Graduate Student Assembly representative
  Nietsche, Carisa K. 2011-2012 Senate of College Councils representative
  Smith, Allie 2011-2012 Senate of College Councils representative

Administrative Advisors:
  Abraham, Lawrence D. ex officio associate dean, undergraduate studies
  Keller, Harrison ex officio vice provost and executive director, Center for Teaching and Learning
  Ritter, Gretchen ex officio vice provost
  Stanfield, Shelby ex officio associate vice president and registrar

  Bernstein, Mark E. ex officio chair, Student Deans' Committee, associate dean, communication
  Thomas, Theresa C. ex officio

president, Academic Counselors’ Association, academic advising coordinator