C-5 Faculty Building Advisory Committee

Chair: Sharon L. Wood
Vice Chair: Brian E. Roberts
Chair Elect: TBD no later than February 2012.

Minutes (PDF): To be posted following first meeting.

The initial meeting of the committee will be at the standard time of 2:15 on Sept. 12 in Main 212.

Member E-mail Address Book (comma delimited)
Member E-mail Address Book (semi-colon delimited)

2010-11 Annual Report

FUNCTION: To represent the faculty, staff, and students in the planning and programming of buildings. The committee shall have a strong voice in (a) campus master planning, (b) priority of building construction, (c) building location, (d) programming of buildings, and (e) reviewing and recommending of final plans. It shall report to the president and periodically to the Faculty Council. During the preparation of the preliminary plans for the erection of a particular building, the president shall appoint a special committee, composed of faculty (and students, when appropriate) who have a direct interest in the proposed building, to serve until the completion thereof, one of whom shall be designated as a voting member of the Faculty Building Advisory Committee for the specified building. Whenever a building is to include library facilities, the University librarian is to be added as an administrative advisor to the special committee.

COMPOSITION: Nine members of the General Faculty, including a representative from the School of Architecture; one member of the University staff; one graduate student; and two undergraduate students. Student members shall be appointed by the president in the fall from a panel of names submitted by the Student Government and the Graduate Student Assembly, and they shall serve one-year terms and shall be eligible for reappointment. The students may not be from the same college or school. In addition, every year the chair of the Faculty Council shall appoint two members of the Faculty Council for one-year terms as members of the committee. The committee shall elect its own chair and vice chair, who shall be members of the General Faculty. The vice president for employee and campus services or a delegate shall be an ex officio member. The director of UT System Office of Facilities Planning and Construction and a representative from the Office of Campus Planning and Facilities Management shall serve as administrative advisors without vote. The faculty and staff members are appointed for five year, overlapping terms, two rotating off each year.

Members, 2011-12:
  Freeland-Graves, Jeanne H. 2007-2012 professor, nutritional sciences
  Gilbert, Robert B. 2009-2014 professor, civil, architectural, and environmental engineering
Hillis, David M.1 2011-2013 professor integrative biology
  Kwallek, Nancy P. 2009-2014 professor, architecture
Prentice, Robert A. 2011-2016 professor, business law
Richburg, John M. 2011-2016 professor, pharmacy
  Roberts, Brian E. 2010-2015 professor, government
  Speck, Lawrence W. 2010-2015 professor, architecture
Wood, Sharon L. 2008-2013 professor, civil, architectural, and environmental engineering


1Replaced Alan K. Cline who resigned from the committee in February 2011.

Faculty Council Appointees:
  Bruster, Douglas S. 2011-2012 professor, English
  Yates, James R. 2011-2012 professor, educational administration

One Staff :
  Ellinger, Jeff 2010-2015 technical coordinator, Texas Performing Arts

Three Students:
  Houston, Andrew G. 2011-2012 Student Government representative
  Long, Samuel (Reid) 2011-2012 Graduate Student Assembly representative
  Pugliese, Laurel E. 2011-2012 Student Government representative

Administrative Advisors:
  Clubb, Patricia L. ex officio vice president for employee and campus services
  Dixon, David R. ex officio administrative advisor, UT System, Facilities Planning and Construction
  Rea, David L. ex officio associate vice president for campus planning and facilities management